Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DC Motor with variable speed project

Status
Not open for further replies.

CharlN

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Good morning geniuses!
I am new to electronics and new to this forum, so please excuse my lack of knowledge.
I want to assemble a variable speed DC motor and DC power source, and would really appreciate your thoughts about the logic, which components to use and how to put them all together. I have very little experience in electronics so it’s probably safer to buy the different ready-made components and just connect them all together (if possible).

1) Power Source:
- 3x 18650 rechargeable batteries
- Charge port
- Housed in a covered sled or housing
- Not sure if a BMS is needed?

2) Voltage Selector:
The motor needs to operate at 2 speeds (slow and fast), so my thinking is that by using a step-down type voltage regulator I can have a switch for 12V or 6V, giving me the fast and slow speed selection. Whichever voltage is selected, will then feed the PWM speed controller, to give the variable speed (0-100%) of the selected voltage, for more precise control of the motor speed. If my logic is correct (and that’s a stretch!), for a motor with max speed of 2,000rpm @ 12V, by feeding it with 6V the max speed will be 1,000rpm @ 6V. Thus by selecting 6V, the PWM speed controller will then allow me to regulate 0-100% of 1,000rpm?

3) PWM Speed Controller:
- Dial for 0-100%
- Switch for FWD (CW) or REV (CCW)
- Soft start and immediate stop
- Ability to add in a foot pedal potentiometer at a later stage (if required)

4) DC Motor