+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member level 3
    Points: 589, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    64
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    589
    Level
    5

    Error: Identifier "ODDRE1" does not identify a component declaration.

    Greetings ... comment that I am trying to simulate a project made in Vivado 2017.3 and the simulator I am using is Modelsim SE 64 10.5, the error I have is the one shown in the attached image.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	error_oddre1.PNG 
Views:	4 
Size:	49.2 KB 
ID:	159162

    Initially the simulation worked correctly, but to this project I added a new IP created in ISE 14.5, which initially gave me the error:
    Library "xilinxcorelib" not found
    therefore I decided to update it to the version of Vivado 2017.3, but even so I still had the same error, later I wanted to verify if the same thing happened in the Vivado simulator, but incredibly it worked without problems there. But still I ended up removing the IP from the project. And from there that my project began to show me that error that I share and so far I have not been able to find a solution to this.
    Could someone help me with this please.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 32,514, Level: 44
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7,524
    Helped
    1762 / 1762
    Points
    32,514
    Level
    44

    Re: Error: Identifier "ODDRE1" does not identify a component declaration.

    If this purely a simulation issue, wipe out the entire simulation directory. I normally run Modelsim with a scripts. I usually have two different scripts, one to compile vendor libraries and one to compile the design files, in either case the first couple of lines in the file checks for and deletes the libraries it compiles.

    It seems to me you compiled the IP from ISE 14.5 and it overwrote or added something that is causing the problem.

    As you indicate you ran the Vivado simulator without problems I'm assuming you use the Vivado GUI to launch your simulation, which automatically generates a Tcl script to compile and run the simulation, so the proper libraries are almost always correctly called out. BTW, I also write my own scripts to run Vivado simulation due to the Vivado generated script not supporting some of the testbench methodologies I use on a regular basis.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 38,675, Level: 48
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,983
    Helped
    2063 / 2063
    Points
    38,675
    Level
    48

    Re: Error: Identifier "ODDRE1" does not identify a component declaration.

    Your error indicates you didnt include a component for ODDRE1
    ODDRE is part of the unisim library
    Did you include the components library at the top of the file?

    Code:
    library unisim;
    use unisim.vcomponents.all;



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 32,514, Level: 44
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7,524
    Helped
    1762 / 1762
    Points
    32,514
    Level
    44

    Re: Error: Identifier "ODDRE1" does not identify a component declaration.

    Quote Originally Posted by TrickyDicky View Post
    Your error indicates you didnt include a component for ODDRE1
    ODDRE is part of the unisim library
    Did you include the components library at the top of the file?

    Code:
    library unisim;
    use unisim.vcomponents.all;
    Thanks for pointing this out, I don't run VHDL simulations all that often so wasn't certain about the error message pointing to a missing library or component declaration.

    If you decide to run vsim using the command line then the switch "-L unisim" needs to be added. The primitive libraries are added automatically when using the GUI to run simulations.



--[[ ]]--