Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Wrong output in HSpice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashuembed

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi
I am new to HSpice and simulating a simple CMOS inverter, the netlist is as follows,
Code:
Inverter Circuit

M1 OUT IN VDD VDD CMOSP L=0.18u W=1.8u
M2 OUT IN 0 0 CMOSN L=0.18U W=0.9U
VDD VDD 0 1.8
VIN IN 0 0 PULSE 0 1.8 2n .5n .5n 7n 20n
CLOAD OUT 0 20fF

.OPTIONS LIST NODE POST
.TRAN 200p 20n
.PRINT TRAN V(IN) V(OUT)
.LIB "tsmc_018um_model" CMOS_MODELS     
.END

when I simulate it using HSPICE J-2014.09-SP2 all is well, output is coming as expected in CosmosScope
J2014cosmosScope.png

also in avanwaves output is coming as expected,
J2014avanwaves.png

but in my another lab where HSPICE L-2016.06-SP1 is installed, simulating the same netlist with HSPICE L-2016.06-SP1 output on cosmosScope is comming like this,
L2016cosmosScope.png

even on changing the x-axis to (0 to 20n) the output is,
L2016cosmosScope1.png

on avanwaves when i try to open the .tr0 file it gives error,
L2016avanwaves.png

I am unable to figure out what is happening,
please help me
thanks in advance

- - - Updated - - -

Actually I have to work in HSPICE L-2016 so please help me getting the correct output.
thanks

Maybe the problem is "another lab" and not the software
version. Inspect the log file for warnings about missing
.LIB target. Inspect the target model files to be sure they
are where and what you think they are.