Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is a snubber circuit required with zero-cross optocoupler

Status
Not open for further replies.

tekbird

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a newbie to power electronics but can understand the basics. My very specific question is, whether a snubber circuit is needed for a triac that is driven by an optocoupler that is based on zero-crossing, like MOC3043?

I think it depends on the application. If you've got an inductive load, where current and voltage are 90 degrees out of phase, you might still need a snubber.

I think it depends on the application. If you've got an inductive load, where current and voltage are 90 degrees out of phase, you might still need a snubber.

Hi Barry, thank you for response. So, if I understood you correctly, since it is zero cross voltage, current might still not be zero which can cause undesirable effect. in this case, what type of capacitor is ideal. should I go for capacitors at some rated AC voltage of like 275VAC or a smaller one will do as we only deal with current?

A snubber is a good idea if the load is unknown, these drivers switch the triac on soon after zero crossing, so the load current will start from zero too ( although will go up quickly for some loads ) when the opto led drive is removed the triac will turn off as the load current goes through zero - as long as the re-applied dv/dt does not trigger it back on - some inductive or motor loads can provide a back emf which can trigger the triac back on - the snubber is to prevent this ... ( the dv/dt at turn off being too high )