Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help reading serial data on Arduino

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnny78

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello Guys

im trying to read serial value from wheighing scale but its my first time working with serial data

i've connected my scale data to arduino Rx through MAX232 & im receiving strange characters on serial monitor or 16x2 LCD

any advice to begin with ?

thanks in advance

That's not much to go on.

Basics:
the speed (Baud rate) must be the same at both ends.
the number of bits and parity must be the same at both ends.

Are you sure the scales use RS232 voltages and does your Arduino use a 5V supply?

Brian.

the (Baud rate) & Parity & stop Bits are ok
Serial.begin(1200,SERIAL_7N1);

& yes the signals are ok i have tested the scale on PC with hyper terminal & its ok i can read the numbers & i have used MAX232 to convert it to TTL levels for arduino
its my first time reading serial & it reads something like random hex numbers i guess
& as i read it must be ascii format i guess

thanks for help

Firstly, try "SERIAL_8N1" as it is far more commonly used.

If that doesn't fix it, please post your code so we can see how you interpret the data.

Are the numbers you see random, meaning different each time or is there some pattern to them? Knowing what the display shows will help with diagnosis.

Brian.

Hi,

reads something like random hex numbers i guess
& as i read it must be ascii format i guess
ASCII, hex, binary .... all are just 8 bits. Only the presentation is different.
0x41 = 0b01000001 = "A"

Klaus