+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member level 3
    Points: 721, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    28
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    721
    Level
    5

    Excessive space needed for Transient analysis Cadence

    Hi, I have run transient analysis in ADEL and the data points taken for the signal are too many, 500 kB of data generated for 3us of transient analysis. How to reduce this points taken by ADEL? Because if I run it for 1 second this would need 166367 GB. Is ridiculous.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 17,793, Level: 32
    pancho_hideboo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Real Homeless
    Posts
    2,741
    Helped
    743 / 743
    Points
    17,793
    Level
    32

    Re: Excessive space needed for Transient analysis Cadence

    What simulator do you use ?
    Show me netlist fragments regarding analysis and option settings.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Junior Member level 3
    Points: 721, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    28
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    721
    Level
    5

    Re: Excessive space needed for Transient analysis Cadence

    Quote Originally Posted by pancho_hideboo View Post
    What simulator do you use ?
    Show me netlist fragments regarding analysis and option settings.
    Hi, Attached you can find the netlist, which is a ring oscilator. The option settings for the transient analysis in ADEL Cadence. And the data generated when downloaded in .CSV file. Is important to say that this amount of data is required by cadence in order to run the simulation and if I increase the transient time also the space goes up.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	netlist 21 ring.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	108.1 KB 
ID:	157864Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Transient 3us.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	31.4 KB 
ID:	157865Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Output freq excel.PNG 
Views:	4 
Size:	85.6 KB 
ID:	157866



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 17,793, Level: 32
    pancho_hideboo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Real Homeless
    Posts
    2,741
    Helped
    743 / 743
    Points
    17,793
    Level
    32

    Re: Excessive space needed for Transient analysis Cadence

    There is no simulator whose name is ADEL.

    Understand things correctly, before posting.
    Can you understand netlist surely ?

    Show me simulator name and netlist.



  5. #5
    Junior Member level 3
    Points: 721, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    28
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    721
    Level
    5

    Re: Excessive space needed for Transient analysis Cadence

    Quote Originally Posted by pancho_hideboo View Post
    There is no simulator whose name is ADEL.

    Understand things correctly, before posting.
    Can you understand netlist surely ?

    Show me simulator name and netlist.
    Sorry. Attached you can find the netlist, including the name of the simulator, spectre. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dfh...ew?usp=sharing



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 41,018, Level: 49

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,607
    Helped
    1949 / 1949
    Points
    41,018
    Level
    49

    Re: Excessive space needed for Transient analysis Cadence

    "keep all" / "save all" collects a ton of data that you
    probably do not care about. You can save only the
    explicitly-cared-about vectors.

    If you only care about the last N cycles of that 1-second
    run. then you can start data saving late, at a point of
    your choosing. I don't recall the syntax but I think it's
    there in the transient run settings pop-up.

    Maybe it's not the simulator that's "ridiculous", but rather
    the idea that a few million time-axis points for every
    nore and branch is really all and entirely useful.


    1 members found this post helpful.

--[[ ]]--