+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 398, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    15
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    398
    Level
    4

    Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    Hello,

    I have a HP laptop (model: 15-ay013dx) with 6GB RAM installed in it. I wanted to upgrade it to 16GB. So, I bought two 8GB DDR4 RAMs. However, after I replaced both of the pre-installed RAMs on my laptop, it isn't starting up (CAPS lock blinks). But when I replaced one previous RAM with one of the new RAMs and kept another old RAM then it works.

    I noticed the RAM slots in my laptop have written over it STD in one slot and RVS in another slot. When I put one new RAM in the STD slot and an old RAM in the RVS slot only then it works.
    the
    But when I put two new RAMS in both slots then it doesn't work. Also when I put the old RAM in STD and new RAM in RVS slot, then it doesn't work either.

    Can anyone suggest me what to do in this regard? Or what might be the issue that it causing it.


    Thanks in advance,

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 54,196, Level: 56

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    13,210
    Helped
    2629 / 2629
    Points
    54,196
    Level
    56

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    There are limits of maximum RAM which can be recognized, depending on your hardware and your version of Windows. Sometimes you can change it in the BIOS options, or by running MSCONFIG.



  3. #3
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 398, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    15
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    398
    Level
    4

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    Hello,

    I checked the maximum RAM allowance in my Laptop, which is 16GB. Would you please tell me how can I change the BIOS option for getting both of the new RAMs work?

    Thanks.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 54,196, Level: 56

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    13,210
    Helped
    2629 / 2629
    Points
    54,196
    Level
    56

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    Quickly after you turn on the computer you should see a notice to press F2 (or F10 or 'delete' or some other key or combination of keys) to enter the BIOS listing. If you press the correct key soon enough, then you should see a list of specs which are relevant to your computer. Among them should be RAM: quantity of chips, capacity, type, etc. Examine these to discover any hint why your RAM chips are recognized in some combinations but not in others.

    A built-in routine for testing installed RAM may be opened (usually) by pressing F5. Running these tests might tell you whether your RAM is faulty. (Hint: install one RAM chip at a time, and see if it passes the tests.) Testing RAM can take several minutes depending on the variety of methods it uses.

    F8 is normally the key that brings up options for starting Windows. It might pay for you to try Safe mode in some cases.



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 7,908, Level: 21
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,061
    Helped
    403 / 403
    Points
    7,908
    Level
    21

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    For the combination that "works" with a new DDR4 module, can the computer see the memory? I doubt it.

    You should get DDR3L SODIMMs instead.
    Your laptop will not take DDR4 modules.

    https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c05165200/



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 32,411, Level: 43
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7,493
    Helped
    1758 / 1758
    Points
    32,411
    Level
    43

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    std_match, When I did a quick search yesterday I noticed that there was conflicting information on the RAM required (DDR3L or DDR4) for a 15-ay013dx, so they probably didn't check their HP documentation for the specs of the machine. If you do a search on Crucial they have both DDR3L and DDR4 specified for an HP 15-ay013dx model.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 7,908, Level: 21
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,061
    Helped
    403 / 403
    Points
    7,908
    Level
    21

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    It is crazy if such a complicated model number isn't enough to tell if it must be upgraded with DDR3L or DDR4 RAM.



  8. #8
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 398, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    15
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    398
    Level
    4

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    Yes when I opened the laptop, the RAM slots had DDR4 written on them. And also my new DDR4 RAMs are working on the slot marked as std. So this model supports DDR4.



  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Points: 32,411, Level: 43
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7,493
    Helped
    1758 / 1758
    Points
    32,411
    Level
    43

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    Then maybe you have RAMs with the wrong CL. If you have the wrong CL they may not work correctly.



  10. #10
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 398, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    15
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    398
    Level
    4

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    I see. CL refers to Latency, right? So, does that mean the STD slot and the RVS slot have different CL? Then how is the old RAM working in both slots, while the new RAM is working only at STD slot?



  11. #11
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 7,908, Level: 21
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,061
    Helped
    403 / 403
    Points
    7,908
    Level
    21

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    I can't explain why the new modules don't work in the RVS slot, but I can explain the STD and RVS markings.

    STD = standard, RVS = reverse.
    It isn't a position marking in the laptop. It is a marking on the sockets themselves, and indicates which side of the RAM will be "up" when it is mounted correctly.

    By facing the connectors of two RAM module toward each other and having one of the modules "upside down", the PCB layout is simplified a lot.
    The STD and RVS markings just mean that the RAM modules will not have the same side facing "up".
    It is possible to design the laptop with two STD sockets or two RVS sockets.

    There should be some marking on the PCB that tells which socket is considered to be the "first".



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  12. #12
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 149, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    18
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    149
    Level
    1

    Re: Laptop RAM upgrade (new RAM doesn't work in RVS slot, but works in STD slot)

    Ok, I have faced the same problem and it will be alright. I use HP probook 440 and when I tried to increase my ram from 4 gb to 8 gb I have faced similar issue. What I did was that I exchanged the position of both ram and suddenly the laptop started. So you pull out your rams and exchange their positions and give it a try.



--[[ ]]--