+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 34,243, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    7,114
    Helped
    514 / 514
    Points
    34,243
    Level
    45

    ZMR330: 3V3 Linear regulator needs diode connected cathode to input voltage?

    Hi,
    Question as per title.

    ZMR330 datasheet
    https://www.diodes.com/assets/Datasheets/ZMRSERIES.pdf

    ..the datasheet doesnt say such a diode is needed. Would we need one.

    We are using it with Vin=12v and vout = 3v3

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 80,975, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16,420
    Helped
    3728 / 3728
    Points
    80,975
    Level
    69

    Re: ZMR330: 3V3 Linear regulator needs diode connected cathode to input voltage?

    Hi,

    A bit more infirmation, please.
    Why do you ask? .... when the datasheet does not mention it.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 264,095, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    46,144
    Helped
    14034 / 14034
    Points
    264,095
    Level
    100

    Re: ZMR330: 3V3 Linear regulator needs diode connected cathode to input voltage?

    I can imagine three different ways to connect the anode (OUT, GND, Supply+), please ask a clear question.


    2 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 54,071, Level: 56
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Audioguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Toronto area of Canada
    Posts
    8,808
    Helped
    2068 / 2068
    Points
    54,071
    Level
    56

    Re: ZMR330: 3V3 Linear regulator needs diode connected cathode to input voltage?

    It is a useless datasheet that does not show a circuit and does not show the input and output capacitors that every other voltage regulator uses.



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 34,243, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    7,114
    Helped
    514 / 514
    Points
    34,243
    Level
    45

    Re: ZMR330: 3V3 Linear regulator needs diode connected cathode to input voltage?

    Thanks, i mean a diode connected anode to output, cathode to input...
    in the old days, such a diode was always needed to protect the regulator in those cases wherever vout gets bigger than vin.



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 80,975, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16,420
    Helped
    3728 / 3728
    Points
    80,975
    Level
    69

    Re: ZMR330: 3V3 Linear regulator needs diode connected cathode to input voltage?

    Hi,

    n the old days, such a diode was always needed to protect the regulator in those cases wherever vout gets bigger than vin.
    True. It was not always needed. Only when the output goes higher than the input. Is this the case with your application?

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 83,016, Level: 70
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,645
    Helped
    4535 / 4535
    Points
    83,016
    Level
    70

    Re: ZMR330: 3V3 Linear regulator needs diode connected cathode to input voltage?

    It is a useless datasheet that does not show a circuit and does not show the input and output capacitors that every other voltage regulator uses.
    True - but it does say 'unconditionally stable' and the transient response graphs are labeled to say there is no output capacitor.

    I can't see any reference or requirement for a external diode anywhere. Bear in mind the output voltage is only 3.3V and a parallel protection diode would only conduct if the input voltage was about 2.7V or less. I would think the chances of internal breakdown quite small, the pass transistor can probably withstand it easily.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.


    1 members found this post helpful.

--[[ ]]--