Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

In terms of timing in ICC, What requirement should be met to say the design is valid?

Status
Not open for further replies.

2channelkrt

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I'm fairly new in this Synopsys world.

I had a chance to use DC and ICC a lot these days, and am trying to validate my design.

Wrote in verilog, through DC, to ICC.
So I have a question and had nowhere to ask other than this place here..

I know there's lot of requirements to be met in order to declare certain design to be 'valid' (when physically fabricated, to be working).

When ICC finishes compiling my design, there's lot of references to check the timing.

First, Reading the result from typing 'report_timing' to the ICC console, which shows fair amount of scenarios and tells whether 'Slack' is negative(not valid) or positive(valid).

Second, Reading one of output files named something like 'chip_finish.timing_max' which is created by provided script from anonymous predecessor, which I haven't checked which script exactly makes that file. It also provides 3~4 cases of path slack, each with its own data_required_time and data_arrival_time with different values.

So, of which I should be looking in to? I'm pretty sure every slack should be positive, but unsure of which is more dominative.

If I set my clk to be 1 (1GHz) in above scenario, can I still say 'DC says my design runs in 1GHz!' even if one of timing results' 'data_required_time and data_arrival_time' is '1.1 and 1.09'? I am aware that DC result is far from correct compared to ICC result.