+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member level 3
    Points: 411, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    58
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    411
    Level
    4

    VCO with disable function

    I found the op-amp based VCO circuit in link https://www.multisim.com/content/uYo...ed-oscillator/

    I want to turn of the VCO when the inputs is around +/-5mV dc. Can it be possible
    Last edited by curious_mind; 23rd December 2019 at 08:42.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 40,618, Level: 49

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,550
    Helped
    1924 / 1924
    Points
    40,618
    Level
    49

    Re: VCo with disable function

    Sure. But how you'd do it, will depend on details of
    what you want from this.

    You could cut power (a load switch IC or two) and
    this would save a fair bit of current from the quiet
    VCO supply. But there are issues with the turnon
    and turnoff behaviors, are there chirps and pops on
    audio or radio (whatever the application might be)?
    How long does the VCO take from power-on to
    stable and right? Maybe you want to isolate the
    VCO's output and ground the downstream amplifier
    input before cutting PA power, but keep the VCO
    alive and on an even keel if it's a critical frequency
    reference (op amp VCO, I kinda doubt; just illustrating
    a general point).

    Whatever you want to do can probably be done.
    There's power management and signal switching
    chip solutions galore and the problem is choosing.

    Like they say in the movies, "happiness consists
    of wanting the right things".



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Member level 3
    Points: 411, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    58
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    411
    Level
    4

    Re: VCo with disable function

    I meant "Turn off" being able to see no pulses when input is +5mV or less. For inputs greater than this value, pulses should be present.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 264,095, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    46,145
    Helped
    14034 / 14034
    Points
    264,095
    Level
    100

    Re: VCo with disable function

    I understand your latest post so that you don't worry about the possible problems addressed by dick_freebird. E.g. startup behavior doesn't matter.

    Notice that the VCO stops operation with the integrator in saturation for Vin < 0. If you don't rely on Vin proportional output frequency, you could apply -5 mV input offset. Output state in stop state can be either high or low, however.

    Otherwise use a comparator to stop the oscillator.



  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 80,975, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16,421
    Helped
    3728 / 3728
    Points
    80,975
    Level
    69

    Re: VCo with disable function

    Hi,

    I meant "Turn off" being able to see no pulses when input is +5mV or less.
    Could you please be more exact.
    do you mean:
    * HIGH
    * LOW
    * high impedance
    * donīt care
    * anything else?

    This all has to be implemented differently...

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Member level 3
    Points: 411, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    58
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    411
    Level
    4

    Re: VCo with disable function

    "Turn off" is to see logic low and I was able to implement this function. I need some help regarding the choice of op amp and the switching device (ref #1). My requirement is DC-1MHz VCO for 0-10V DC.



--[[ ]]--