+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 2,026, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    140
    Helped
    73 / 73
    Points
    2,026
    Level
    10

    Power pulse generate 30V 400A

    Hello!

    Please suggest how to generate pulse with 100-200us rise and fall time, 500-1500us duration. Voltage/current precision regulated 0-30V, 0-400A depending of load.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 263,610, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    46,054
    Helped
    14006 / 14006
    Points
    263,610
    Level
    100

    Re: Power pulse generate 30V 400A

    If the duty cycle respectively average power is low, I would suggest an analog output stage, powered by a capacitor bank. Take care that the output transistors are specified for linear operation.

    For higher average power, we would prefer switched mode design, but involves higher circuit effort and less clean output.



  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 15,240, Level: 29
    schmitt trigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2,535
    Helped
    814 / 814
    Points
    15,240
    Level
    29

    Re: Power pulse generate 30V 400A

    Is this a spot welder?
    My batteries are recharged by "Helpful Post" ratings.
    If you feel that I've helped you, please indicate it as a Helpful Post



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 12,484, Level: 26

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,039
    Helped
    748 / 748
    Points
    12,484
    Level
    26

    Re: Power pulse generate 30V 400A

    An LC ckt should do it, say we charge a cap to 60V and run it through an L to give a 400A peak, the Zo = 0.15 ohms

    thus the L required = 0.0225 x C

    larger components give a longer pulse, for 1 Hz say F = 1/ 2.pi SQRT(LC) and, 0.15 = SQRT ( L/C ) [Zo]

    So 39.47 = 1 / LC and 0.0225 = L/C thus; 39.47 = 1 / ( 0.0225 C^2 ), thus C = 1.06F & L = 23.87 mH

    [ check 1/(2.pi SQRT(L.C)) = 1Hz - tick ]

    So a 100A SCR fired from a 1F cap, will give a pulse of 0.5 sec wide, 400A peak ( assuming no losses ) delivered via the 23.87mH coil ( 400A pk rated ) - at the end of which the current will be zero ( SCR will turn off ) and the cap volts will be zero - ready to re-charge to 60V - in this case ...


    For your particular application a high power switch mode would work best with an SCR firing for the 100uS rise time,

    pulse shaping LC circuits could also be employed



  5. #5
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 2,026, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    140
    Helped
    73 / 73
    Points
    2,026
    Level
    10

    Re: Power pulse generate 30V 400A

    Quote Originally Posted by schmitt trigger View Post
    Is this a spot welder?
    no, this is SMU for power device static characterization. Rdson measurement, etc

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Easy peasy View Post
    1 An LC ckt should do it...

    2 For your particular application a high power switch mode would work best with an SCR firing for the 100uS rise time,

    pulse shaping LC circuits could also be employed
    and how to precisely regulate current/voltage in this cases?

    now i making 100A, 20V pulses using power mosfet based (source follower) linar output stage with voltage and current feedback
    Last edited by Velkarn; 16th December 2019 at 10:49.



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 263,610, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    46,054
    Helped
    14006 / 14006
    Points
    263,610
    Level
    100

    Re: Power pulse generate 30V 400A

    and how to precisely regulate current/voltage in this case?

    now i making 100A, 20V pulses using power mosfet based (source follower) linar output stage with voltage and current feedback
    30V/400A won't work differently. See post #2 about power supply options. Note that you can't have voltage and current control active at the same time. You'll either define a current pulse with optional voltage limiting or vice versa. For the the said purpose (Rdson measurement), I would expect underlying current control with voltage limiting.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 12,484, Level: 26

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,039
    Helped
    748 / 748
    Points
    12,484
    Level
    26

    Re: Power pulse generate 30V 400A

    for 400A amp make everything 4 x bigger ...



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 12,484, Level: 26

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,039
    Helped
    748 / 748
    Points
    12,484
    Level
    26

    Re: Power pulse generate 30V 400A

    we have have made a range of electronic loads, you need large mosfet die in large packages on cooled heatsinks and very well designed gate drive, current sharing, layout, and Vmax / Imax control to take a 30V 400A source ( with large caps on it ) and have it available to go thru a switched device ...



--[[ ]]--