+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 33,847, Level: 44
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    7,032
    Helped
    510 / 510
    Points
    33,847
    Level
    44

    LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    Hi,
    I wish to simulate a Half Bridge SMPS in LTspice, but using the LT1243 adapted to control it.
    I need to split the gate drive in to two separate streams as in the attached.
    Would you say D flip flop for each stream would be best to achieve these two streams?

    (LTspice sim also attached)

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,577, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    471
    Helped
    121 / 121
    Points
    2,577
    Level
    11

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    please show how you want to connect/use the D FF

    i expect you'll need to connect the current sense

    i would suggest a half bridge controller, maybe even with a high side driver built in
    maybe a TI LM5039 - don't know if it meets your requirements, but it is more in line
    with a half bridge



  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 33,847, Level: 44
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    7,032
    Helped
    510 / 510
    Points
    33,847
    Level
    44

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    Thanks, this is purely sim and we wish to use the LT1243 as its so quik and eazy to use.

    The attached (LTspice and schem) shows how it can be done…but I am getting an unfortunate little spike in the waveform streams as shown.
    Any better ways?



  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,577, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    471
    Helped
    121 / 121
    Points
    2,577
    Level
    11

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    the rising edge of the LT1243 clocks the DFF, s both transistors "switches" are on at the same time -
    one turning on and one turning off

    shouldn't QQQ and QNOT go to the switch controls, SSS and TTT,
    with the sources B1 and B2 going to the business part of the switches?

    not familiar with the control V=(V(QQQ)-1)
    when V(QQQ) = 0, does V=(V(QQQ)-1) give a -1?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 33,847, Level: 44
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    7,032
    Helped
    510 / 510
    Points
    33,847
    Level
    44

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    not familiar with the control V=(V(QQQ)-1)
    when V(QQQ) = 0, does V=(V(QQQ)-1) give a -1?
    Thanks, yes, i have to get "-1" because the switch only responds to "+1" and "-1" for "ON" and "OFF" respectively

    the rising edge of the LT1243 clocks the DFF, s both transistors "switches" are on at the same time -
    one turning on and one turning off
    Yes i think i need a delay to sort this out...but delays dont seem to be covered in the manual for ltspice



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 80,159, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16,267
    Helped
    3689 / 3689
    Points
    80,159
    Level
    69

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    Hi,

    but I am getting an unfortunate little spike in the waveform streams as shown.
    use an inverter in front of the DFF_CLK_Input. .. to clock the DFF at the falling edge of U1_ouput.
    The additional delay gives extra relaxed timing.


    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,577, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    471
    Helped
    121 / 121
    Points
    2,577
    Level
    11

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    maybe a part designed to do what you want
    rather than forcing a square peg into a round hole

    if you want to build this, you'll need to add a variety of hardware to make it work
    including high and low side gate drivers, guaranteed off time (assuming it is voltage fed)
    etc



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 33,847, Level: 44
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    7,032
    Helped
    510 / 510
    Points
    33,847
    Level
    44

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    Thanks , this is purely for sim purposes to look at checking sims for the transformer turns checking.

    Thankyou Klaus you are a genius as always!...added your inverter, and now no spike.



  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Points: 263,329, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    46,005
    Helped
    13992 / 13992
    Points
    263,329
    Level
    100

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    There seems to be a "small" problem. LT1243 is a current mode controller. As far as I understand, there's no way to generate pwm output without using the current sense input, which isn't feasible with half bridge.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 33,847, Level: 44
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    7,032
    Helped
    510 / 510
    Points
    33,847
    Level
    44

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    Thanks yes thats right......but i can put a ramp into the Current sense input from the clock pin....and thus do it in voltage mode.....with some resistance in there for current limiting in case of short circuit.

    In fact, though in real life a half bridge can't be done in current mode......in the simulator, it actually works.



  11. #11
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 6,478, Level: 19

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    931
    Helped
    310 / 310
    Points
    6,478
    Level
    19

    Re: LTspice...splitting LT1243 output into two separate pulse streams

    You're just driving a half bridge from a signle PWM output and need to insert dead time?

    Why not use the age old R+diode circuit. Add an R for turn on which is bypassed by a diode for instant turn off. Use LTSpice logic gates to buffer this stuff if you want.


    Another strategy I use is to skip the fets or switches altogether and simulate the output of the half bridge with a dependent source. If the gate drive signal is 5V and your half bridge is 50V I make a source where Vout=V(gate_drive)*10. It's often useful when focusing on topology or control.


    1 members found this post helpful.

--[[ ]]--