Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Two Qs re: resistance

Status
Not open for further replies.

riffwraith

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Not sure if the answer depends on the circuit, or if this is a rule that will apply across the board?

So, I get that a resistor will limit the flow of current in the circuit.

I have a circuit with a 10k resistor, and let's say I add to that a 4.7k resistor. I believe this to be called 'piggybacking'?

1. Is that considered series, or parallel?

2. Why is the amount of current now decreased? To my complete newbie brain, there should be more resistance; to me, there is now 14.7k of resistance (+ or - a bit, due to tolerance). But apparently, there is now 5.3k of resistance. Why is that?

Thanks in advance.

If the two resistors have one terminal in common, then it is series connection and current will reduce if the voltage across the series connection stays the same as it was when only one resistor was connected.
If the two resistors have two terminals in common, then it is parallel connection and under the same circumstances as above, the current will increase.

Where did you get 5.3k? Resistance of parallel circuit is 10*4.7/(10+4.7) = 3.2k.

If the two resistors have one terminal in common, then it is series connection and current will reduce if the voltage across the series connection stays the same as it was when only one resistor was connected.
If the two resistors have two terminals in common, then it is parallel connection and under the same circumstances as above, the current will increase.

Ok, that helps.