+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 64, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    64
    Level
    1

    tda7052a audio amplifier

    how do i determine the potentiometer value ? im doing a audio amplifier using tda07052a.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	circuit.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	124.7 KB 
ID:	156634

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 80,237, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16,276
    Helped
    3692 / 3692
    Points
    80,237
    Level
    69

    Re: tda7052a audio amplifier

    Hi,

    Every device has a datasheet. The datasheet tells you all you need to know to get the device working properly.

    In your case: page8, Fig7.
    Check wiring and value.

    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 82,583, Level: 70
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,557
    Helped
    4514 / 4514
    Points
    82,583
    Level
    70

    Re: tda7052a audio amplifier

    ... also note that the wiring to pin 4 is wrong!

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 53,965, Level: 56
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Audioguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Toronto area of Canada
    Posts
    8,788
    Helped
    2064 / 2064
    Points
    53,965
    Level
    56

    Re: tda7052a audio amplifier

    The TDA7052A is obsolete and is not made anymore. Its datasheet shows that it is always muted when pin 4 is grounded like in your schematic.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  5. #5
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 64, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    64
    Level
    1

    Re: tda7052a audio amplifier

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    Every device has a datasheet. The datasheet tells you all you need to know to get the device working properly.

    In your case: page8, Fig7.
    Check wiring and value.

    Klaus
    So am i right to say that when i push the switch to 5v it will charge the transistor and u can change to voltage through the potentiometer for volume control and mute?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 82,583, Level: 70
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,557
    Helped
    4514 / 4514
    Points
    82,583
    Level
    70

    Re: tda7052a audio amplifier

    First thing to check is whether you really have a controllable volume at all. There are three type of TDA7052, the original with no letter at the end does not have electronic volume control at all. SOME of the ones marked 'A' at the end have it, some do not. ALL the ones with a 'B' at the end do have volume control.
    So am i right to say that when i push the switch to 5v it will charge the transistor and u can change to voltage through the potentiometer for volume control and mute?
    If you are saying does biasing a transistor into conduction and wiring it in series with the volume control make that control work? The answer is yes but bear in mind that IC gives more volume when the voltage on pin 4 is higher. If you disconnect the bottom of the control it will go to maximum gain. If you intend to use the transistor to mute the audio, it should be wired across the volume control so it 'shorts it out' when the transistor conducts.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 80,237, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16,276
    Helped
    3692 / 3692
    Points
    80,237
    Level
    69

    Re: tda7052a audio amplifier

    Hi,

    So am i right to say that when i push the switch to 5v it will charge the transistor and u can change to voltage through the potentiometer for volume control and mute?
    With your wrong wiring of the pot ... the pot is useless... you may turn it as you like, but it won´t change volume.

    --> correct your circuit.

    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



--[[ ]]--