+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 739, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    113
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    739
    Level
    5

    "RS-232 port to transfer data to PC for analysis"

    Hi,

    I am looking for thermocouples with readers. I just found one with software support. There is a statement in the user manual / datasheet. I am trying to understand this statement.

    "RS-232 port to transfer data to PC for analysis"

    Using RS-232 port to transfer data to PC means that the serial communication protocol is UART ? Is it possible to use RS-232 port for another protocol ?

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 78,412, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,903
    Helped
    3609 / 3609
    Points
    78,412
    Level
    68

    Re: "RS-232 port to transfer data to PC for analysis"

    Hi,

    RS-232 is mainly a definition of timing and voltage levels. It is an interface description.
    It is not a true protocol.

    a UART is an interfce (IC) that mainly does the parallel-serial and serial-parallel shifting and generates the timing.
    UARTS usually output either
    * 5V TTL levels
    * 5V CMOS levels or
    * 3.3V CMOS levels
    .. and they generate the timing.

    A true protocol defines the meaning of the sent data. It describes Tx- and Rx- frames, CRC, and the timing (frame, response) and so on.

    *****
    We donīt know anything about your device.
    --> please post a link to the datasheet.

    But it seems the device has an internal memeory for storing measurement data and an RS-232 compatible interface to communicate with the PC.
    You need to have a dedicated PC software, or at least a decription about the UART setup (baud rate, handshaking...) and the communication protocol.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 739, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    113
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    739
    Level
    5

    Re: "RS-232 port to transfer data to PC for analysis"

    It is Extech EA15 Dual Input Temperature Datalogger.

    Is it possible or allowed to use RS-232 port with a communication protocol other than UART or it has to be always UART ?

    VM111 PIC Programmer by Velleman uses RS-232 port but I am not sure if UART protocol is there or not ? If UART then it is possible to use UART to USB FTDI bridge with VM111 ?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 81,690, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,395
    Helped
    4469 / 4469
    Points
    81,690
    Level
    69

    Re: "RS-232 port to transfer data to PC for analysis"

    As Klaus stated, RS232 is a voltage level definition for serial communications, it has nothing to do with UARTs although in most cases one is 'behind' the RS232 interface. A UART is a serial to parallel and parallel to serial converter with extra framing circuits and error detection circuits, it can be used for any kind of serial data.

    A protocol defines a method of passing data between two devices, it refers to almost every serial interface whether it is a modem, programmer, Ethernet, GPS etc. It just describes the format of the data bits and how the receiving end should respond to them.

    You can use a single RS232 port for many purposes, it depends on the software driving and listening to the port. There is no such thing as UART protocol though.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 40,053, Level: 48

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,466
    Helped
    1894 / 1894
    Points
    40,053
    Level
    48

    Re: "RS-232 port to transfer data to PC for analysis"

    "Back in the day" (like, '60s through '90s) RS-232 was
    the most common PC interface (other than printer
    port).

    If you have no RS-232 port there are USB-serial
    dongles that will do the job. Their quality varies, in
    automotive tuning we found some better compatible
    with the software than others but they're so cheap
    you could buy a couple of the recognized brands
    and find one that works. The logging software
    ought to find the port, or a short list of them for you.

    Now if you wanted to "roll your own" (poll your own)
    then it might need some digging to find the format
    info to code up the "handler".



  6. #6
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 739, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    113
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    739
    Level
    5

    Re: "RS-232 port to transfer data to PC for analysis"

    Two more questions regarding RS-232 port and UART protocol.

    1- VM111 PIC Programmer by Velleman uses RS-232 port to connect programming cable to PC. Is is possible to use UART to USB FTDI bridge with VM111 if PC does not have RS-232 Com port available ?
    2- Is it possible to implement any other Baud rate other then the standard Baud rates which are 1200, 4800, 9600 etc ? How about using 10000 in Microcontroller and also in PuTTy terminal ?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 261,156, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,615
    Helped
    13876 / 13876
    Points
    261,156
    Level
    100

    Re: "RS-232 port to transfer data to PC for analysis"

    The first question has been already answered in general. If it specifically work with the said programmer has to be evaluated, or answered by the vendor. I guess yes.

    As for the second question, the linked AN may help you. https://www.ftdichip.com/Support/Doc..._BaudRates.pdf

    Non standard baud rates need to be defined in the driver configuration.



--[[ ]]--