Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[Cadence ADE XL] Optimize a Common Source Amplifier to 15dB gain via Corner Analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.

iSean

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi there I'm a student intern, very new to ADE XL, with basic knowledge of Analog IC in Common Source Amplifier Characteristics.
I am seeking some help in some guide in using the Corner Analysis / Optimization tools in ADE XL.

Firstly, I need to optimize a Common Source Amplifier circuit as shown, with one single bias point, Vindc, maintain > gain of 15 dB @ saturation region [2]
I'm allowed to manipulate the W/L / R_D / Vindc. While keeping the V_DD constant @ 1.2V.

The circuit must work in -40, 27, 70 and 125'C at the corners 'tt', 'ss', 'ff', 'fnsp' and 'snfp'.

The problem arise caused by my corner and temperature settings, the Vout vs Vin generated is offset, and I couldn't determine the best Vindc point.
I've been struggling to manipulate to W/L and R_D / Vindc such that to minimumize this offset to all my circuit to provide a good consistent gain of > 15 dB ?

I've been struggling for 4 days with this question given by my supervisor...

WINWORD_aS7A6tNx9J.png

Corners.jpg

You cannot find Optimum Vdc(in) in such a way..Here, you're changing Vdc(in) and obviously Vout is changing..
Gain is another metric and specification.Look at Gain equation of this amplifier in a textbook then find another equation that relates this Gain to Vdc(in) then find optimum value ..
But I'm not sure you know what the Gain is..

Reactions: iSean

iSean

Helpful Answer Positive Rating