Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Timing constraints using a PLL.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pastel

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello!

There is something a little bit unclear to me.
When I started programming a few months ago, I made a generator for arbitrary
signals. In order to check how it works, I have loaded a sine wave and the
generator just addresses the array and sets the address to a DAC.
At one point, it stopped working, I had a really weird output. After some
search on the web, I found out that the timing might not be optimal, so I
learned how to set time constraints, which fixed the problem. Basically,
the distance between data vs clock of the DAC I use are important, and
this makes constraints between system clock and DAC clock.

Now I have tried something else on a copy of the original project. I didn't set any time
constraints, but the PLL I use allows me to accurately set the phase between
one signal and the master clock. This method also fixes the problem, and depending
on the phase I set, the output might be nice or completely screwed up.

NB: In my application, I generate sys_clk and dac_clk from the physical input clk.
Both are generated by the same PLL, I can be sure of their relationship (phase),
and I verified it on the scope.

As PLLs allow me to build any kind of signal with any phase, I can tune the distance
between the edges of the DAC, so this method also seems valid to me. Is this a good
method to set time constraints? What would be the drawbacks of this method?

Thanks for any hint.

Pastel