Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using FPGA to interface SRAM to microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

kappa_am

Full Member level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,
I am a power engineer, so this question may seem rookie. Today I tear down a drive system, I found it in the control section they use an FPGA (Lattice) to connect an SRAM (IS61WV25616BLL/BLS) to their MCU (TMS320). Let alone why they ran out of ram for a drive system which itself seems strange. I am wondering what does FPGA do? could not they use PMP to connect Ram directly to MCU?

Thank you for sharing info

Hi,

There are really many possible reasons.

I relatively often use PLDs, external SRAMs and microcontroller in combination.
Not the brands that you talk about.

In one application I divided the SRAM in different sections:
* general use SRAM
* send buffer
* 2 receive buffers.
The FPGA autonomically controls a DAC... reading the "send buffer" and transferring the data to the DAC.
At the same time it samples the analog input with the use of an ADC and transfers the data into one receive buffer.
At the same time the microcontroller performs an FFT calculation on the other receive buffer data.
Automatically the two receive buffers are switched every time the buffer is full.
The PLD controls an interrupt line to inform the microcontroller that new data is ready to process.
The used SRAM was fast enough to perform a DMA read/write (ADC, DAC data transfer) within two microcontroller SRAM accesses.
Thus I completely avoided access collision problems.