Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Regarding RF PCB layout design in my company product, some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

simbaliya

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a PCB design engineer, the product from my company uses BLE solution, so there is a RF chip, followed by BAW filter and antenna.

Regarding the PCB design for this part of circuit, I have some questions that my wireless colleague can not explain to me clearly, I believe the good practice of RF layout design he taught me is from previous experience, but he can not trace the real reason.

The PCB layout is designed like this, the PCB ground plane is split into two(not difference layers but different territory), one is RF ground, one is antenna ground, means the second ground plane is used as RF antenna. In between these two planes there is a 22nH inductor electrically connect the two. Our main circuits including RF circuit are located on the RF ground plane side, while a few other circuits are located on the other ground plane as RF antenna due to some physical limitations. So we are using part of the PCB ground planes to behave as RF antenna, my first question is:

1. what is the purpose of the 22nH inductor between RF antenna plane and RF ground plane?

Besides of that, I was told to add a lot of via along the surrounding RF ground planes of the RF transmission line, this is my second question:

2. Why do we need via along the RF ground plane that surrounding RF transmission line?