Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

UART TX signalling from another process

Status
Not open for further replies.

vinodstanur

Advanced Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello all my post readers,

I am very new to FPGA, a weak ago started playing with a spartan 6. (Papilio pro). Now connected a 320x240 LCD to it and planning to do something with that as a hello world. I have a decent experience on electronics hardware, digital circuits and embedded firmware development. But first time with FPGA. Learning VHDL now.

I started with some documents and getting started guide from Papilio website.
Now able to understand the vhdl and it's syntax to an extent.

I did a small UART TX as my first program. It is working fine.

Now I want to keep that UART TX as a function equivalent. I want to keep that uart_tx: process(CLK) as a module and from another process I want to trigger the UART stat state machine.

I am able to trigger from external process by setting a 1 bit signal variable. I can read it from uart_tx process but I cannot clear it from there because yes two processes cannot asynchronously write to a single signal, I can imagine this.

So generally how people do this ?

Because I want to keep the UART TX isolated from other code and don't want to write anything inside that process. And if possible I want to keep it as a seperate file aswell so that I can invoke transmit trigger and set transmit byte from other vhdl file or other process in same file.