Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Six-Pulse Rectifier Capacitor Value

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sr.Diego

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi guys, I am a beginner-intermediate engineering student and I am currently developing a six-pulse three-phase full wave rectifier with output capacitor parallel to a purely resistive load. The problem I have had is that the equation (which I deduced) that I use for the calculation of capacitance as a function of ripple factor (rf) does not coincide with the simulation ripple factor.

2.PNG

The equation is:

C=1 / (6*4√3*R*f*(rf))

To obtain the equation, I based an analysis on a single-phase full-wave rectifier with parallel capacitor (in a book) and I made a similar analysis with the three-phase case.

The values ​​I have for my rectifier are: VLLrms=141.42 , f=20Hz , R=8 ohm , rf =0.03=3%.
that gives me according to my formula: C=5mF.

I'm checking the ripple factor with Matlab, using the formula:

rf=((VoutRMS/VoutDC)²-1)^½ or √((VoutRMS/VoutDC)²-1) in Matlab simulation rf = √((190.9/190.7)²-1) 4.58%

Matlab simulation : VLLin(ab)=yellow , VoutDC =blue.

1.PNG

I don't know what happens. suddenly:

The formula is not correct?

Am I checking the ripple factor wrong?

All aids are welcome and appreciated, Thank you very much :-D:-D:-D:-D

Hi,

First:
Please keep on standard signal flow on schematics = left to right.
Yours is reversed. Thus for us your schematic rather looks like a VFD schematic:
Left: DC input, DC supply capacitor, H-bridge switches, 3 phase load. (Right)

Some thoughts about your problem: