+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 25, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    25
    Level
    1

    Digital input of high voltage

    Hi i need a square input for my digital input application from function generator but a voltage of 150V and frequency of 35kHz .. our module accepts only digital input .. kindly help me with an interface circuit between function generator and module

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 2,010, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    373
    Helped
    93 / 93
    Points
    2,010
    Level
    10

    Re: Digital input of high voltage

    is the 150V the input or desired output?

    if 150V is the input, what is the desired output?
    if 150V is the output, what is the desired input?

    what voltage levels for digital input? TTL? CMOS? 3V? 3.3V?

    is the frequency alwatys 35 kHz, or is the frequency variable?

    is the duty cycle 50% (square) or is the duty cycle variable?

    what are the desired rise and fall times?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 25, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    25
    Level
    1

    Re: Digital input of high voltage

    Hi,

    150V is the input range to my module needed to test. It has a range from 15-150V.
    If 15-150v is input then nodule read as 1 else 0.
    Input shal be given frm function generator as it has a capacity to vary frequency.
    Frequency is variable from1k to 35k
    Duty cyle 50% would be enough
    Rise and fall times should be as minimum as possible. Its just like i can test with function generator but it does not support enough voltage to test..



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,678, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,745
    Helped
    3587 / 3587
    Points
    77,678
    Level
    67

    Re: Digital input of high voltage

    Hi,

    Resistive voltage divider
    Comparator.

    Sadly you don't give the expected output voltage levels, and you don't give information about your power supplies voltages.

    ***
    You have two options:
    * either calculate the voltage divider that 150V input gives output in the range of your comparator's input voltage range (which usually depends on supply voltage)
    * or you focus on the 15V switching level and use a limiter (zener diode...) to limit the output voltage at higher input voltages.

    The first one has the benefit that you easily can adjust threshold level,
    The second one gives a more precise threshold level.

    Klaus

    Added:
    Rise and fall times should be as minimum as possible
    This is no useful specification. Give a value.
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  5. #5
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 25, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    25
    Level
    1

    Re: Digital input of high voltage

    Can i use a mosfet switching circuit for this requirement but i think rise and fall times would be more at high frequencies



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,678, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,745
    Helped
    3587 / 3587
    Points
    77,678
    Level
    67

    Re: Digital input of high voltage

    Hi,

    Generally: Yes, but...

    How? What circuit? Why?

    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



--[[ ]]--