+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 225, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    BHUBAMESWAR
    Posts
    9
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    225
    Level
    2

    Series connection of potentiometer

    i have 2 1Kohm potentiometer and i have required 2Kohm. I think can be it work, if i connect it in series but i not sure, can it possible? if it is possible then give some solution and which type of connection will be occur?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 52,666, Level: 56

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    12,895
    Helped
    2572 / 2572
    Points
    52,666
    Level
    56

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    Does the value need to go to zero?
    Or is it satisfactory to have a range of 1k to 2k? You can do that by putting a resistor in series with just one of your potentiometers. It might be 1k or 1.5k ohm.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,136, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,629
    Helped
    3562 / 3562
    Points
    77,136
    Level
    67

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    Hi,

    Why specifically 2k? It's a rather unusual requirement.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  4. #4
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 225, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    BHUBAMESWAR
    Posts
    9
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    225
    Level
    2

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    sir actually my requirement is 100ohm, 200ohm, 600ohm, 1.5 Kohm in digital potentiometer output but i have two 1Kohm digital potentiometer that's why i thought i connect it series but i am not sure it is possible or not if it is possible how i connect it i don't know



  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 52,666, Level: 56

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    12,895
    Helped
    2572 / 2572
    Points
    52,666
    Level
    56

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    Install a switch in parallel with the resistor.
    Close the switch to get 100, 200, 600 ohms.
    Open the switch to get 1k-2k.

    Of course it's possible to use two potentiometers in series. It's handy if you stick labels around the dials, because it's hard to remember which position each pot is set to, and which one should be turned to reach what ohm value.

    Another option: One pot dials 100, 200, 600. Make the other pot switchable (the same as if it were the resistor mentioned above), and set it to 900 ohms. Then you can jump from 600 to 1500 ohms with the flick of a switch.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 225, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    BHUBAMESWAR
    Posts
    9
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    225
    Level
    2

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    sir, can u share some diagram i can understand easily



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 259,399, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,290
    Helped
    13779 / 13779
    Points
    259,399
    Level
    100

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    The specification in post #4 sounds confusing. Are you asking for a potentiometer (3 terminal device) or a variable resistor?



  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,136, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,629
    Helped
    3562 / 3562
    Points
    77,136
    Level
    67

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    Hi,

    I agree with FvM.
    And the informations sound like you need fixed values. If so, then a couple of resistors and a switch to select the value may be more suitable.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  9. #9
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 225, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    BHUBAMESWAR
    Posts
    9
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    225
    Level
    2

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	variable register.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	9.8 KB 
ID:	155172
    yes sir i have two 1kohm variable register and i want to get 1.5kohm resistance to connect in series manner but i don't know how connect it



  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,136, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,629
    Helped
    3562 / 3562
    Points
    77,136
    Level
    67

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    Hi,

    yes sir i have two 1kohm variable register and i want to get 1.5kohm resistance to connect in series manner but i don't know how connect it
    As FvM already stated:
    A potentiometer is a 3 terminal device, as shown in your picture,
    But you talk about a variable resistor, which is a 2 terminal device.

    But you may use potentiometers as variable resistors.

    Connection:
    Input ... to upper potentiometer, upper terminal
    Upper potentiometer, Lower terminal --> lower potentiometer, upper terminal
    Lower potentiometer wiper --> output.

    With this the upper potentiometer is just used as fix (non variable) 1 k resistor.
    The lower acts as variable resistor 0 ... 1kOhms.
    Resulting in a total resistance of 1k ... 2k depending on lower pot adjustment.
    Adjust the lower pot to center position (assuming you have linear pots) to get a total of 1.5k.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  11. #11
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 225, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    BHUBAMESWAR
    Posts
    9
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    225
    Level
    2

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	POT.png 
Views:	3 
Size:	9.4 KB 
ID:	155183
    okk thank you sir one question more this diagram is correct or not mince it will be work as per my requirement



  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Points: 259,399, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,290
    Helped
    13779 / 13779
    Points
    259,399
    Level
    100

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    Looks good!



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,136, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,629
    Helped
    3562 / 3562
    Points
    77,136
    Level
    67

    Re: Series connection of potentiometer

    Hi,

    For sure you may use upper pot wiper terminal, but I did not mention it.
    And I did not mention any GND connection.

    But your requirements are confusing, thus: the circuit may be correct or not.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



--[[ ]]--