Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

keypad interfacing with PIC18F4520

Status
Not open for further replies.

knull

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi newbie here, i have 2 questions.
1) How do i display a 2 digit No. on keypress?
2) When I press 5 on the keypad, the LCD displays '5'. How do i then store the value ive inputted?
I want to compare the number ive pressed to a randomly generated number.

this is my existing code
what works: i can display all single digit/characters on each key press but i cant display more than 1 digit on single keypress. keypad uses 74C922 encoder
lcd.PNG-> info on the lcd im using

Please post code on Edaboard and place it inside code tags, not everyone has access to some external file servers.

There are two options here, if you only want to display more than one digit, advance the LCD cursor to the next position, however this only stores the character in the LCD, you can't use it for anything else.
The better solution is to save the keys to memory as they are pressed, you can use a simple array to do this. For example "keysPressed[10];" would have space to store 10 digits.
If you use the memory option, consider there are some other requirements:
a. some variable to point to the position in the array the key is to be stored, you would advance this (increment it) to the next location as each key is pressed.
b. a check that stops you overflowing the array when you have reached it's capacity.
c. a way of clearing the array and moving back to the first location so it is ready for use again. For example an 'Enter',' Reset' or 'Clear' key.