+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 32,996, Level: 44
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    6,865
    Helped
    498 / 498
    Points
    32,996
    Level
    44

    Circuit to pulse from 1v to 1.1v repeatedly.

    Hi ,
    We need the “Output”of the following circuit to go from 1v to 1.1v as shown in the LTspice simulation. We are worried we may get too much VCE drop in the pnp….the datasheet does not tell the vce drop for our conditions, but can you agree that our Vce will be less than 10mV when ON?

    2N3906
    https://www.onsemi.com/pub/Collateral/2N3906-D.PDF

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,854, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,783
    Helped
    3592 / 3592
    Points
    77,854
    Level
    68

    Re: Circuit to pulse from 1v to 1.1v repeatedly.

    Hi,

    Why no Mosfet?

    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 32,996, Level: 44
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    cambridge
    Posts
    6,865
    Helped
    498 / 498
    Points
    32,996
    Level
    44

    Re: Circuit to pulse from 1v to 1.1v repeatedly.

    Thanks......it would need to be pfet, and i cant pull the gate down far enough as its only a 1.1v rail.
    (admittedly we could make a negative rail for this purpose but its extra components)



  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 81,438, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,350
    Helped
    4456 / 4456
    Points
    81,438
    Level
    69

    Re: Circuit to pulse from 1v to 1.1v repeatedly.

    Wouldn't it be more sensible to switch the voltage at the input of the op-amp where the current is small and independent of load. You can set the voltage with resistors, use the op-amp output directly and avoid the transistors altogether.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 260,279, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,452
    Helped
    13829 / 13829
    Points
    260,279
    Level
    100

    Re: Circuit to pulse from 1v to 1.1v repeatedly.

    can you agree that our Vce will be less than 10mV when ON?
    Not sure, at least several mV.

    To implement a BJT analog switch with zero offset voltage, operate the transistor inversely. Disadvantage is current gain of about unity.



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,917, Level: 18

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    840
    Helped
    280 / 280
    Points
    5,917
    Level
    18

    Re: Circuit to pulse from 1v to 1.1v repeatedly.

    Quote Originally Posted by betwixt View Post
    Wouldn't it be more sensible to switch the voltage at the input of the op-amp where the current is small and independent of load. You can set the voltage with resistors, use the op-amp output directly and avoid the transistors altogether.

    Brian.
    Agree: just switch or mux the opamp reference.

    A second option is to mux two different sources. NLASB3157 is an example of SPDT analog mux.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 52,947, Level: 56

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    12,950
    Helped
    2580 / 2580
    Points
    52,947
    Level
    56

    Re: Circuit to pulse from 1v to 1.1v repeatedly.

    From a 1V supply the astable multivibrator produces 1.35V peaks at the capacitors.
    I'm not sure if this can be adapted to your purposes but the topic appears to ask for a simple method to get slightly higher voltage from a 1V source.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	astable multivibrator 2 PNP peaks 1_35 V from 1V supply.png 
Views:	3 
Size:	21.3 KB 
ID:	154536

    My schematic has PNP type. The usual schematic has NPN type and so it produces negative polarity at the capacitors.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 11,199, Level: 25

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1,819
    Helped
    675 / 675
    Points
    11,199
    Level
    25

    Re: Circuit to pulse from 1v to 1.1v repeatedly.

    from the graphs in the data sheet - the best you can do with this device is about 80mV for 1mA collector and 100uA base, there are a heap better pnp's for this, usually 1 amp from zetex ...



  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Points: 260,279, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,452
    Helped
    13829 / 13829
    Points
    260,279
    Level
    100

    Re: Circuit to pulse from 1v to 1.1v repeatedly.

    Circuit load current wasn't yet specified. Even low Vcesat transistors (e.g. NXP "BISS" types) have Vcesat almost converging against a constant value at low Ic values. Vcesat is caused by forward biased BC diode and it's voltage characteristic related to BE diode.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PBS5130.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	82.9 KB 
ID:	154555

    As previously mentioned, you get < 1mV Vcesat in inversed operation, no idea if it helps for your application.



--[[ ]]--