Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pool Saltwater Chlorine Generator - PCB Help Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bogey

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi guys - newbie/first post here. I would definitely consider myself an electronic "hobbyist"; maybe level 3 on a scale of 10. Most of my background is wiring car stereos - which translated to stereos built into coolers to take floating on the river. I did successfully build a radio controlled lawn mower with a couple of deep cycle wheel chair batteries and wheel chair motors and a motor controller (probably the most difficult project I've completed). I've also done a couple projects with relays and a raspberry pi. But I say all that to give you my experience level. There's a lot of very smart people on this forum from the stuff I've read, so please - talk as if you would to a young child :).

My current project: I have a pool that has a salt water chlorine generator (SWG). It's a Hayward Aquarite model. The PCB model number is GLX-PCB-RITE (Amazon.com PCB). Over the past 6 or 7 years, every time I open the pool for pool season, it seems I have to replace a component on the PCB called the thermistor - inrush current limiter (AS32 2R025) because it constantly burns out. Of course I'm familiar with resistors, capacitors, etc - but I had never heard of this component until this. So I had to do my research and get familiar with them.

The way I understand it, there's two kinds: Negative Temp Coefficient (NTC) and Positive (PTC). The thermistor on my board is NTC.