+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 1,931, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    312
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,931
    Level
    10

    Dual Power supply from AC input

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dual_power.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	91.6 KB 
ID:	153970

    For getting +5V and -5V output from AC Input,I tried this circuit..
    Input to J3 connector will be 9VAC,3A from step down transformer.

    While searching,every circuits use an another point to connect the GND path in this circuit...

    My doubt is,is there anyway to create GND by using same input to bridge from J3..?
    Shall we use another bridge rectifier and can connect GND from bridge rectifier to GND path and POSITIVE voltage to B3 positive side(before 7805)..?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 79,912, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,086
    Helped
    4375 / 4375
    Points
    79,912
    Level
    68

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    The circuit will be unreliable because ground will move according to the difference in load current on the two outputs.

    A better solution is to connect one side of the AC input to ground and the other side through a rectifier to each of C13 and C16. The drawback is you only get half wave rectification but there isn't much you can do about that.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 75,593, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,334
    Helped
    3491 / 3491
    Points
    75,593
    Level
    67

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    Hi,

    "GND" is just a name ... and it shoud be the signal where (most of) your voltages refer to.
    You may name every signal "GND" .. itīs up to you.

    Example:
    If you name the upper node "GND", then the center node will be -5V and the lower node will be -10V.
    If you name the lower node "GND", then the center node will be +5V and the upper node will be +10V.
    At least the designer should know if this naming makes sense or not.

    ***
    In your schematic the problem is that you need about equal currents in the +5V path and in the -5V path to ensure symmetry .... otherwise the voltages may float and the regulators are not able to maintain the specified ouput voltage.
    I recommend to
    * omit the bridge rectifier
    * connect the lower transformer pin with GND
    * connect a diode from upper transformer pin (A) to the positive bulk capacitor (K)
    * connect a diode from upper transformer pin (K) to the negative bulk capacitor (A)
    The drawback is, that the voltage ripple at the bulk capacitors will be about twice as high.
    The benefit is you need only two diodes, that generate less voltage drop and less wasted power...

    ***
    A 9V AC, 3A transformer will generate about +/-12.7V peak at full load maybe +/-15V peak when unloaded. Consult the datasheet or test this....

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 7,121, Level: 20
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    939
    Helped
    367 / 367
    Points
    7,121
    Level
    20

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    If the load is much higher for +5V, you can generate the unregulated positive voltage "normally" with a full wave rectifier (negative output from the diode bridge to ground). You can then generate the unregulated negative voltage with a "voltage doubler" using a few diodes and capacitors.



  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 52,005, Level: 55

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    12,757
    Helped
    2540 / 2540
    Points
    52,005
    Level
    55

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    Simulation of method described in posts 2 & 3. Uses 1mF capacitors (as in your schematic), and loads 25 ohms because too much current draw pulls the voltage below a level which is suitable for regulator IC's.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bipolar supplies fm 9 VAC 2 dio 2 cap fil to loads 25 ohm each.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	30.2 KB 
ID:	153979

    The 1/2 ohm resistor is unnecessary. It represents a certain amount of resistance in the power supply.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 1,931, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    312
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,931
    Level
    10

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cr_2.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	47.9 KB 
ID:	153983
    Is this correct..?



  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 79,912, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,086
    Helped
    4375 / 4375
    Points
    79,912
    Level
    68

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    It would be if you turned both the rectifiers the other way around.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



  8. #8
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 1,931, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    312
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,931
    Level
    10

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image_3.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	32.6 KB 
ID:	154025

    What will happen if 7905 is connected like above circuit..?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Points: 75,593, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,334
    Helped
    3491 / 3491
    Points
    75,593
    Level
    67

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    Hi,

    There is no "7905".
    If IC6 is a 7905, then obviously "IC6_IN" voltage is positive with respect to "IC6_GND" which is against 7905 specification. Itīs likely you kill the 7905.

    Btw: Why the non standard pin naming of IC6? A C G
    Why no output capacitor at IC6?

    Use a simulation tool like LTspice. It helps you to understand whatīs happening and you don't risk exploding parts.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Points: 79,912, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,086
    Helped
    4375 / 4375
    Points
    79,912
    Level
    68

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    D17 is now correct.
    D18 should go to the input of IC6 and its GND pin to the 0V line.
    In other words, the original schematic was correct except for D17 and D19 being the wrong way around.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



  11. #11
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,545, Level: 13

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    393
    Helped
    161 / 161
    Points
    3,545
    Level
    13

    Re: Dual Power supply from AC input

    If you getting 9V from a transformer why cant you use below topology with a center taped transformer
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dual PS.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	49.6 KB 
ID:	154028



--[[ ]]--