+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 36
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,975, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,975
    Level
    12

    High Frequency using 8051

    Hi all.
    I need to generate high frequency output maxing 60 Khz using 8051 microcontroller.
    attached circuit diagram.
    Software is not a problem, i would be using timer to generate high frequency.
    but as per the circuit diagram, is the components selection perfect..?. will the mosfet work at frequency of 60 Khz. or can anyone recommend me some other mosfets where i can get a better performance.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I need to generate a square wave and drive a inductive load at 12V at high frequency.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 261,937, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,781
    Helped
    13913 / 13913
    Points
    261,937
    Level
    100

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    What is the load current? IRF540 isn't suited for 5V gate control, you better use a logic level FET.

    For 60 kHz switching, you need a push-pull gate driver.



  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,975, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,975
    Level
    12

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Quote Originally Posted by FvM View Post
    What is the load current? IRF540 isn't suited for 5V gate control, you better use a logic level FET.

    For 60 kHz switching, you need a push-pull gate driver.
    Load Current is approx 2 Amps at 12V



  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 261,937, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,781
    Helped
    13913 / 13913
    Points
    261,937
    Level
    100

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    There are many logic level FETs suitable for 12V 2A. I forgot an important point: The inductive load will destroy the FET if you don't connect a free-wheeling diode.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,975, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,975
    Level
    12

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Quote Originally Posted by FvM View Post
    There are many logic level FETs suitable for 12V 2A. I forgot an important point: The inductive load will destroy the FET if you don't connect a free-wheeling diode.
    I have added a free wheeling diode to inductive load, and also changed the mosfet
    but still while stimulating in proteus, i am not getting pure square wave at the output, but the same at controller pin i am getting proper square wave (image attached)



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 261,937, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,781
    Helped
    13913 / 13913
    Points
    261,937
    Level
    100

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    The gate driver is connected wrongly. It's a complementary emitter follower, should have NPN on top and PNP on the bottom. Both emitters tied to the gate. No base resistors required, instead an optional low ohmic gate resistor.

    I have added a free wheeling diode to inductive load
    Not yet in the schematic.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 40,234, Level: 49

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,494
    Helped
    1903 / 1903
    Points
    40,234
    Level
    49

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    You might just like a large MOSFET gate driver without
    the discrete FETs, depending on the (not-stated) load
    current, rise/fall times and tolerance of the part to
    inductive over / undershoots. You can get 10A peak
    spec parts that ought to be good for an amp or so DC
    and TTL-compatible control inputs, >12V supply rating.
    Look for automotive grade parts and you may find the
    clamp diodes especially robust and built in.



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,975, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,975
    Level
    12

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Quote Originally Posted by FvM View Post
    The gate driver is connected wrongly. It's a complementary emitter follower, should have NPN on top and PNP on the bottom. Both emitters tied to the gate. No base resistors required, instead an optional low ohmic gate resistor.

    Not yet in the schematic.
    Still the things are not working. the result is the same.
    (Image Attached).
    Not added the diode in circuit diagram because the diode does not have a model to play, so i receive the stimulation error.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  9. #9
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 3,279, Level: 13
    baileychic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    651
    Helped
    50 / 50
    Points
    3,279
    Level
    13

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    In scope, channels should be set to DC measurement. In your setup, all channels are set to measure AC.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,975, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,975
    Level
    12

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Quote Originally Posted by baileychic View Post
    In scope, channels should be set to DC measurement. In your setup, all channels are set to measure AC.
    Changing the channel to DC makes no difference



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  11. #11
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 5,293, Level: 17
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    ZASto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Messy Corner, 44°47'31.56"N, 20°28'9.16"E
    Posts
    636
    Helped
    131 / 131
    Points
    5,293
    Level
    17

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    So, what kind of waveform are you expecting to have on inductive load? Perfect square?
    Make no mistake between my personality and my attitude.
    My personality is who I am.
    My attitude depends on who you are.



  12. #12
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,975, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,975
    Level
    12

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Quote Originally Posted by ZASto View Post
    So, what kind of waveform are you expecting to have on inductive load? Perfect square?
    Yes, my requirement is perfect square at the output at 60Khz.
    Is it possible...??



  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Points: 261,937, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,781
    Helped
    13913 / 13913
    Points
    261,937
    Level
    100

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Yes, my requirement is perfect square at the output at 60Khz.
    Is it possible...?
    Yes, more or less.



  14. #14
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,975, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,975
    Level
    12

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Quote Originally Posted by FvM View Post
    Yes, more or less.
    Thanks,
    But how can i do it. is my circuit diagram perfect, or need to do some changes, because while stimulating in proteus its not giving proper output.
    do i need to test it in actual hardware using oscilloscope



  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Points: 79,050, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    16,045
    Helped
    3634 / 3634
    Points
    79,050
    Level
    68

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Hi,

    Vague descriptions:
    "Perfect" --> there is no perfect. You need to live with non perfect waveform. How much tolerance in which regard can you accept? Timing, amplitude, ringing, over- or undershot, rise- fall time, duty cycle, jitter...

    "its not giving proper output" --> in which regard?

    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  16. #16
    Super Moderator
    Points: 261,937, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,781
    Helped
    13913 / 13913
    Points
    261,937
    Level
    100

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    I skip the "perfect" square wave discussion. To get a square wave at all, you need a free-wheeling diode.



  17. #17
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 6,247, Level: 18
    kripacharya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,209
    Helped
    182 / 182
    Points
    6,247
    Level
    18

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Quote Originally Posted by gauravkothari23 View Post
    Thanks,
    But how can i do it. is my circuit diagram perfect, or need to do some changes, because while stimulating in proteus its not giving proper output.
    do i need to test it in actual hardware using oscilloscope
    'Perfect' square output you will only get with resistive load. With inductor it will be different.



  18. #18
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,975, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,975
    Level
    12

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Hi all.
    I have tried making the circuit and tested. but i am not getting the desired output. i am trying to drive an inductive load at 300 Khz (circuit attached) using 89S52.
    what my problem is, using oscilloscope i have tested the gate pin of mosfet 11N60DM2 , which gets drive at 300 Khz, but with load or without load when the same i checked at the output, i am not getting any frequency, just a straight line of 24V.
    Please let me know what changes i have to make in circuit diagram. am sure about the software part because at the gate pin i am getting 300 Khz of frequency



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  19. #19
    Super Moderator
    Points: 82,003, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,446
    Helped
    4487 / 4487
    Points
    82,003
    Level
    69

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    The schematic is OK although I would add a resistor in series with the input. Your problem is the 11N60DM2 which needs as much as 5V on its gate before it STARTS conducting. Ideally you want far more than that to ensure it turns full on .

    The simplest modification I can think of is to connect Q5 collector and R2 to 24V and add another transistor at the input to drive Q5 and Q6.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



  20. #20
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,975, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    467
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,975
    Level
    12

    Re: High Frequency using 8051

    Quote Originally Posted by betwixt View Post
    The schematic is OK although I would add a resistor in series with the input. Your problem is the 11N60DM2 which needs as much as 5V on its gate before it STARTS conducting. Ideally you want far more than that to ensure it turns full on .

    The simplest modification I can think of is to connect Q5 collector and R2 to 24V and add another transistor at the input to drive Q5 and Q6.

    Brian.
    what if i change the Mosfet to STP36NF06 or i can even use IRFZ44NPBF



--[[ ]]--