+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member level 1
    Points: 293, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    32
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    293
    Level
    3

    Cadence Spectre CIW Warning and Error (ADE-3023)

    Hi, I, a rookie in Linux environment, have installed Cadence IC617 on CentOS 7.6 and was going to simulate an analogue IC schematic.

    When I launched ADE L, the command interpreter window (CIW) showed this warning:

    Code:
    *WARNING* The Virtuoso Analog Design Environment (ADE) creates a user interface (UI) to match the features of the particular
    version of MMSIM you are using. The software could not find the 'feature file' in the MMSIM hierarchy that lists the features
    available in this version of MMSIM. You might be using a wrapper script around spectre such that 'which spectre' returns
    your wrapper script and not spectre in the MMSIM hierarchy. For now, ADE will create a UI to match the latest version
    of spectre. If you are using an older version and do not want to see the UI for features that are not available in
    that version, you can set the following variable according to spectre version you are using:
    setenv  SPECTRE_FEATURE_FILE /home/pathForMMSIM/tools/spectre/etc/files/spectre.dat
    If I proceed to netlist and run, with or without analysis setup, CIW would display this error:

    Code:
    Loading cdf.cxt 
    ERROR (ADE-3023): Unable to locate spectre executable in the specified path. Ensure that
            the executable is present in the path or to set the correct path, use
            the setShellEnvVar() in Command Interpreter Window (CIW).
    What I've done:

    1. Based on that warning above, I've able to locate spectre.dat, which is at /opt/cadence/MMSIM151/tools/spectre/etc/files.

    2. I've checked my .bashrc (I'm using bash) and confirmed the MMSIM part as shown below:

    Code:
    #+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    # Cadence Analog Simulators (MMSIM) - Spectre, SpectreRF, &
    # RelXpert (Reliability Simulator)
    #
    #+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    #!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#
    export MMSIMHOME=/opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151
    export PATH=$PATH:$MMSIMHOME/bin:$MMSIMHOME/tools/relxpert/bin
    #!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Did my .bashrc set correctly? How to solve this problem?

    Thanks in advance.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 16,713, Level: 31
    pancho_hideboo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Real Homeless
    Posts
    2,570
    Helped
    686 / 686
    Points
    16,713
    Level
    31

    Re: Cadence Spectre CIW Warning and Error (ADE-3023)

    Show me location of “spectre”.

    Enter getShellEnvVar("PATH") in CIW.
    Show me result.
    Last edited by pancho_hideboo; 19th June 2019 at 10:54.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Member level 1
    Points: 293, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    32
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    293
    Level
    3

    Re: Cadence Spectre CIW Warning and Error (ADE-3023)

    /opt/cadence/MMSIM151/tools/spectre



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 16,713, Level: 31
    pancho_hideboo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Real Homeless
    Posts
    2,570
    Helped
    686 / 686
    Points
    16,713
    Level
    31

    Re: Cadence Spectre CIW Warning and Error (ADE-3023)

    Quote Originally Posted by JLHW View Post
    /opt/cadence/MMSIM151/tools/spectre
    No.

    spectre is not located there.

    Enter “which spectre” in Linux prompt.
    Then show me result.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  5. #5
    Member level 1
    Points: 293, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    32
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    293
    Level
    3

    Re: Cadence Spectre CIW Warning and Error (ADE-3023)

    If I enter "which spectre", the terminal returned:

    Code:
    [JLHW@jlhw opt]$ which spectre
    /usr/bin/which: no spectre in (/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/sbin:/opt/cadence/IC617/tools/dfII/bin:/opt/cadence/IC617/tools/plot/bin:/opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/bin:/opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/tools/relxpert/bin:/opt/cadence/EXT151/bin:/opt/cadence/PVS151/bin:/opt/cadence/PVS151/tools/bin:/opt/cadence/PVS151/tools/K2/MaskCompose/bin:/opt/cadence/GENUS152/tools/bin:/opt/cadence/JLS151/bin:/opt/cadence/INNOVUS152/bin:/opt/cadence/CTOS142/bin:/opt/cadence/CONFRML152/bin:/opt/cadence/SSV152/tools/bin:/opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/bin:/opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/tools/bin::/opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/tools/vtools/vfault/bin:/opt/cadence/ET151/bin:/opt/cadence/VIPCAT113/tools/denali_64bit/bin:/opt/cadence/MVS152/tools/bin:/opt/mentor/Calibre2015/aoi_cal_2015.2_36.27/bin:/opt/sonnetsoftware/sonnet_16.52/bin:/home/JLHW/.local/bin:/home/JLHW/bin:/opt/cadence/IC617/tools/dfII/bin:/opt/cadence/IC617/tools/plot/bin:/opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/bin:/opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/tools/relxpert/bin:/opt/cadence/EXT151/bin:/opt/cadence/PVS151/bin:/opt/cadence/PVS151/tools/bin:/opt/cadence/PVS151/tools/K2/MaskCompose/bin:/opt/cadence/GENUS152/tools/bin:/opt/cadence/JLS151/bin:/opt/cadence/INNOVUS152/bin:/opt/cadence/CTOS142/bin:/opt/cadence/CONFRML152/bin:/opt/cadence/SSV152/tools/bin:/opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/bin:/opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/tools/bin::/opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/tools/vtools/vfault/bin:/opt/cadence/ET151/bin:/opt/cadence/VIPCAT113/tools/denali_64bit/bin:/opt/cadence/MVS152/tools/bin:/opt/mentor/Calibre2015/aoi_cal_2015.2_36.27/bin:/opt/sonnetsoftware/sonnet_16.52/bin)
    [JLHW@jlhw opt]$
    This terminal is opened at /opt, similar output is achieved if I opened the terminal at Desktop.

    However, if I search the folder manually in root folder, I can find spectre in /opt/cadence/MMSIM151/bin and /opt/cadence/MMSIM151/tools.lnx86/bin, as shown below:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	asshdj.PNG 
Views:	3 
Size:	132.2 KB 
ID:	153818

    are those the correct directories?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    EDIT:

    below is the CIW results after typing the command getShellEnvVar("PATH"):

    Code:
    getShellEnvVar("PATH")
    "/opt/cadence/IC617/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/tools/bin/64bit:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/share/oa/bin:
    /usr/local/bin:
    /usr/local/sbin:
    /usr/bin:
    /usr/sbin:
    /bin:
    /sbin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/tools/dfII/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/tools/plot/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/tools/relxpert/bin:
    /opt/cadence/EXT151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/PVS151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/PVS151/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/PVS151/tools/K2/MaskCompose/bin:
    /opt/cadence/GENUS152/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/JLS151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/INNOVUS152/bin:
    /opt/cadence/CTOS142/bin:
    /opt/cadence/CONFRML152/bin:
    /opt/cadence/SSV152/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/tools/vtools/vfault/bin:
    /opt/cadence/ET151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/VIPCAT113/tools/denali_64bit/bin:
    /opt/cadence/MVS152/tools/bin:
    /opt/mentor/Calibre2015/aoi_cal_2015.2_36.27/bin:
    /opt/sonnetsoftware/sonnet_16.52/bin:
    /home/JLHW/.local/bin:/home/JLHW/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/tools/dfII/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/tools/plot/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/EXT151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/PVS151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/PVS151/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/PVS151/tools/K2/MaskCompose/bin:
    /opt/cadence/GENUS152/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/JLS151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/INNOVUS152/bin:
    /opt/cadence/CTOS142/bin:
    /opt/cadence/CONFRML152/bin:
    /opt/cadence/SSV152/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/tools/bin:
    /opt/cadence/INCISIVE151/tools/vtools/vfault/bin:
    /opt/cadence/ET151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/VIPCAT113/tools/denali_64bit/bin:
    /opt/cadence/MVS152/tools/bin:
    /opt/mentor/Calibre2015/aoi_cal_2015.2_36.27/bin:
    /opt/sonnetsoftware/sonnet_16.52/bin"
    - - - Updated - - -

    As per my reply just now, basically there is no spectre found if i type "which spectre" in terminal regardless at where I opened it, but I could find the executable files (in /opt/cadence/MMSIM151/bin and /opt/cadence/MMSIM151/tools.lnx86/bin) if search manually.

    meanwhile, the getShellEnvVar("PATH") command shows the paths related to MMSIM151 as stated in my .bashrc file, which are:

    Code:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/tools/relxpert/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/bin:
    /opt/cadence/IC617/MMSIM151/tools/bin:
    so far, the problem still persists, should I modify my .bashrc file?
    Last edited by JLHW; 19th June 2019 at 11:40.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Member level 1
    Points: 293, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    32
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    293
    Level
    3

    Re: Cadence Spectre CIW Warning and Error (ADE-3023)

    UPDATE:

    I've somehow solved the problem.


    What I did:

    1. In .bashrc, I've typed the wrong directory at the MMSIM lines, so I've changed the part as shown below (some paths may be redundant):

    Code:
    #+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    # Cadence Analog Simulators (MMSIM) - Spectre, SpectreRF, &
    # RelXpert (Reliability Simulator)
    #
    #+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    #!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#
    export MMSIMHOME=/opt/cadence/MMSIM151
    export PATH=$PATH:$MMSIMHOME/bin:$MMSIMHOME/tools/relxpert/bin
    #!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#
    export PATH=/opt/cadence/MMSIM151/bin:/opt/cadence/IC617/tools/bin:/opt/cadence/IC617/tools/dfII/bin:$PATH
    2. Before initialisation, I opened a terminal at /home, then typed this command to refresh my .bashrc for Cadence, and initialised virtuoso:

    Code:
    [JLHW@jlhw ~]$ . .bashrc
    [JLHW@jlhw ~]$ virtuoso
    Then I closed virtuoso and this terminal.

    3. My work directory is at /home/JLHW/EDA (DIFFER FROM USER TO USER), so I opened the terminal at here to initialise virtuoso again, but with setenv command:

    Code:
    [JLHW@jlhw EDA]$ csh
    [JLHW@jlhw ~/EDA]$ setenv SPECTRE_FEATURE_FILE /opt/cadence/MMSIM151/tools/spectre/etc/files/spectre.dat
    [JLHW@jlhw ~/EDA]$ virtuoso
    4. the setenv and . .bashrc commands are needed once only, meaning that the next time you open virtuoso, those commands are not needed and you can invoke virtuoso normally.


    Thanks for the help!



--[[ ]]--