+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member level 5
    Points: 1,162, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    83
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,162
    Level
    7

    Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    I'm working on VHDL coding of a system has two inputs (say input A has 128 bit and input B has 256 bit) i'm using Virtex5. After synthesis Xillinix ISE gives me error that IOB not enough. how can i avoid this problem?

    this is my entity
    Code:
    ENTITY ro IS
    PORT(RST,CLK:IN STD_LOGIC;
        A      :	IN  std_logic_vector(127 downto 0);
        B	        :	IN  std_logic_vector(255 downto 0);
        C    :	OUT std_logic_vector(127 downto 0));
    END ro;

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 23,794, Level: 37
    barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    4,566
    Helped
    1004 / 1004
    Points
    23,794
    Level
    37

    Re: Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    Um, maybe pick an FPGA that has at least 512 IOB?


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 1,682, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    327
    Helped
    73 / 73
    Points
    1,682
    Level
    9

    Re: Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    serial I/O ?


    1 members found this post helpful.

  4. #4
    Member level 5
    Points: 1,162, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    83
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,162
    Level
    7

    Re: Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    Quote Originally Posted by wwfeldman View Post
    serial I/O ?
    Parallel
    How can i take them serial ?
    and how can i take this in considerations in my code ?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 1,682, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    327
    Helped
    73 / 73
    Points
    1,682
    Level
    9

    Re: Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    Quote Originally Posted by MSAKARIM View Post
    I'm working on VHDL coding of a system has two inputs (say input A has 128 bit and input B has 256 bit) i'm using Virtex5. After synthesis Xillinix ISE gives me error that IOB not enough. how can i avoid this problem?
    where are you getting 128 bit parallel input, and 256 bit parallel input?
    it takes a lot of PWB space, but 16 74299 type 8 bit universal shift registers would do it
    and you would need to reconvert it to parallel inside the FPGA

    and you would need 32 for the 256 bit datum

    and you would need some circuits to load the data into the shift registers and then shift the data out

    if one is clever, the 32 shift registers can also cover the 16. you would need to add
    multiplexors or tri-state latches to do this

    barry's suggestion of an FPGA with more I/O looks a lot easier



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 76,257, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,468
    Helped
    3517 / 3517
    Points
    76,257
    Level
    67

    Re: Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    Hi,

    Are you sure you need
    * 256 input lines and
    * another 128 input lines
    ....and where is the output?

    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 23,794, Level: 37
    barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    4,566
    Helped
    1004 / 1004
    Points
    23,794
    Level
    37

    Re: Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    Are you sure you need
    * 256 input lines and
    * another 128 input lines
    ....and where is the output?

    Klaus

    There’s 128 outputs.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Points: 258,502, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,134
    Helped
    13721 / 13721
    Points
    258,502
    Level
    100

    Re: Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    I fear you are reading too much into the problem. Too me it looks like a trivial FPGA exercise, unfortunately compiled with a too small device, e.g. using automatic device selection in ISE. As long as you are not designing real hardware, where costs and board space matters, just select a device with sufficient number of IOB, Virtex 5 series surely has.



  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Points: 76,257, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,468
    Helped
    3517 / 3517
    Points
    76,257
    Level
    67

    Re: Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    Hi,

    The text clearly talks just about inputs "a system has two inputs (say input A has 128 bit and input B has 256 bit) "
    A see that the code uses outputs...

    Klaus
    Please don´t contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,402, Level: 21
    Achievements:
    7 years registered Created Blog entry
    dpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,252
    Helped
    272 / 272
    Points
    8,402
    Level
    21
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Not enough IOB of a certain FPGA

    Hello OP,

    Are you sure you need
    * 256 input lines and
    * another 128 input lines
    ....and where is the output?
    This looks like an internal module design to me. At the peripheral you don't have these many signals.
    If you provide us the project details then perhaps there can be more help.

    btw - you run a simulation using a testbench for such a model, but for FPGA implementation you have to be realistic with the IO pin count.
    FPGA enthusiast!



--[[ ]]--