Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

TI TINA simulation with AD8603

Status
Not open for further replies.

eengr

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
TI TINA simulation with AD8603 over voltage not picking up

Hi I am new to TINA TI simulation world. I used one of their example circuit 0-10V @ 10mA DAC Interface Circuit ( see attached)

View attachment TINA TI.zip

I noticed that original OPAMP in the example circuit was OPA251 and it is powered using 32V DC (single supply) in simulator & this supply is within the limits of what opamp cant work with (up to 36V DC)

& then I ran DC transfer Analysis & I get nice 0 to 10V Output for 0 to 1V Input

I then used Analog devices Website to download SPICE model for AD8603

I created new Macro for this and saved (also attached in above folder)

I replaced the OPAMP in the example circuit.

Now this OPAMP (AD8603) works upto maximum of 5.5V. But I left the V+ in my example circuit as 32V just to see if I see any clipping at the output or any other errors. But I was surprised to see that the circuit simulates "perfectly fine" i.e., not showing any distortion even though it is rated for 5.5V maximum.

Is it normal to expect like this in SPICE simulation? How do we normally catch the obvious user-errors of over-voltage supply when simulating (i.e., if I am using the supply out of range of what component (opamp) is specified at)?

Hi,

Many simulators don't care about specified power supply range.
Don't try the same at a real circuit.

A simulation does not replace reading the datasheet.

Klaus