+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 1,299, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    Helped
    19 / 19
    Points
    1,299
    Level
    8

    Question about transmitter

    Hello,

    I have designed something that uses an RF power detector on the input of the design and I need to set up a transmitter so I can test if it is working. I have a hc-12 module in my possession but I am not very familiar with using it. I was wondering if there would be an easy way to just transmit the carrier frequency without sending data since I really only care about RF power level, not the data itself. I don't have an Arduino, but I do have an MSP430 if I need to use that. Also, can I just forgo the use of the MSP430 and just apply a voltage to the TX input of the hc-12 module to enable the transmitter?


    Thanks.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 51,750, Level: 55

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    12,702
    Helped
    2528 / 2528
    Points
    51,750
    Level
    55

    Re: Question about transmitter

    If your rf detector can pick up a wide range of frequencies then you can try a transmitter in a garage door remote, or a car's remote, or wireless headphones, etc.

    Electrical noise emanates from many appliances, which your detector may pick up. However it's hard to be sure what reaches your device, whether it's really (a) electromagnetic waves (photons), or (b) electrical activity borne by nearby inductive (or capacitive) coupling.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 16,348, Level: 30

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2,993
    Helped
    727 / 727
    Points
    16,348
    Level
    30

    Re: Question about transmitter

    if there would be an easy way to just transmit the carrier frequency without sending data since I really only care about RF power level, not the data itself...
    That is not how it works! You need to pass on information and they must recognize each other. Of course you need not bother all these factors for a power level detector but for a proper communication you need to worry about data and security.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 1,299, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    Helped
    19 / 19
    Points
    1,299
    Level
    8

    Re: Question about transmitter

    I hadnít thought about using stuff I already had, I took a quick look at some of the electronics I have and nothing seems like itíll work unfortunately.

    I have an antenna on my pcb with a 433MHz band pass filter. Goes to an RF power detector. LED lights up if the measured input dBm is greater than a certain threshold. I donít need any security or communication between the board and the transmitter. I just want to verify that the antenna+bandpass+rf detector is working as expected before I proceed with the rest of the design.

    I donít have all the components I need yet, but once they come in, Iím planning on seeing if that hc-12 module will suffice. Iím just not sure if I can transmit by applying a dc signal to the transmit pin. It doesnít make sense to me that this would work properly so ultimately, I might have to use the msp430.



  5. #5
    Member level 5
    Points: 2,050, Level: 10
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Nik_2213's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    90
    Helped
    19 / 19
    Points
    2,050
    Level
    10

    Re: Question about transmitter

    could you mcgyver something using an existing attic or outdoor aerial to feed a scratch-wound 'search coil' to tickle your sensor ?

    ( Ducks those Hams and RF folk throwing rotten tomatoes due gross impedance and tuning mismatch... )

    IIRC, when early transistor radios only had low sensitivity and a small ferrite rod for its internal antenna, this trick was often used to adapt the long, long room or attic loop that had fed the family's radiogram...



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 5,632, Level: 17
    kripacharya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,022
    Helped
    173 / 173
    Points
    5,632
    Level
    17

    Re: Question about transmitter

    You could try with a off-the-shelf 433Mhz transmitter. They are easily available and cheap. It works on ASK, which means if input pin is high, it transmits a carrier, if low then no carrier. Only other thing is power.
    Here is typical product https://www.electronicscomp.com/433m...hoCinAQAvD_BwE

    Just make sure your BPF allows the exact frequency transmitted.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 1,299, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    Helped
    19 / 19
    Points
    1,299
    Level
    8

    Re: Question about transmitter

    Okay, thatís what Iím planning on doing. The hc-12 is GFSK based. Would the carrier frequency be present when the TX is enabled there too, or should I just look for an ASK module?



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 5,632, Level: 17
    kripacharya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,022
    Helped
    173 / 173
    Points
    5,632
    Level
    17

    Re: Question about transmitter

    Forget the hc-12. Its too complicated for your purpose. Stick with 433 tx module. Much simpler.



--[[ ]]--