+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member level 1
    Points: 224, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    38
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    224
    Level
    2

    any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    Used a MCP4261 to generate a signal to control a analog joystick, seems its max current is too small, anyway can amplification it's signal?
    Thanks.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 24,041, Level: 37
    barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    4,611
    Helped
    1021 / 1021
    Points
    24,041
    Level
    37

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    What? You want to amplify a POTENTIOMETER?

    Are you saying you want to put more current through the device than it can handle? Why? Maybe if you told us a little more about what you’re actually trying to do.



  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 80,991, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,275
    Helped
    4433 / 4433
    Points
    80,991
    Level
    69

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    What? You want to amplify a POTENTIOMETER?
    Even stranger, they want it to control an analog joystick. Attaching a joystick to an SMD IC sounds like a recipe for it being ripped off the board to me.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



  4. #4
    Member level 1
    Points: 224, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    38
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    224
    Level
    2

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    Quote Originally Posted by barry View Post
    What? You want to amplify a POTENTIOMETER?

    Are you saying you want to put more current through the device than it can handle? Why? Maybe if you told us a little more about what you’re actually trying to do.
    Ya,
    is it possible to use a Transistor kind?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by betwixt View Post
    Even stranger, they want it to control an analog joystick. Attaching a joystick to an SMD IC sounds like a recipe for it being ripped off the board to me.

    Brian.
    Should say to replace the control of an analog joystick(AJ).
    Last edited by laoadam; 16th May 2019 at 13:11.



  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,085, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,617
    Helped
    3559 / 3559
    Points
    77,085
    Level
    67

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    Hi,

    impossible to answer without the requested informations.
    --> Show a schematic and give values and give your requirements.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Member level 1
    Points: 224, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    38
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    224
    Level
    2

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    impossible to answer without the requested informations.
    --> Show a schematic and give values and give your requirements.

    Klaus
    Thanks, the info. attached.

    The funny thing is with these circuit and code, output at pot0 = 2.5 V, the output at pot1 vary: 0 - 5 V, whats wrong? tested few pieces all same.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	post-73.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	72.7 KB 
ID:	153137

    Code:
    /*
    
      This code used to control the digital potentiometer
      MCP41100 connected to  arduino Board
      CS >>> D10
      SCLK >> D13
      DI  >>> D11
      PA0 TO VCC
      PBO TO GND
      SHDN >> 9
      PW0 TO led with resistor 100ohm .
    */
    #include <SPI.h>
    byte addressPot0 =     0b00010001;      //To define potentiometer use last two BITS 01= POT 0
    byte addressPot1 =     0b00010010;      //To define potentiometer use last two BITS 10= POT 1
    byte addressPot0and1 = 0b00010011;  //To define potentiometer use last two BITS 10= POT 0 and 1
    byte CS= 10;    //Chip control goes to pin 10
    byte SHDN = 9;  //Chip SHUTDOWN - PIN 9
    byte RS = 8;    //Chip RESET - PIN 8
    
    void setup()
    {
      pinMode (CS, OUTPUT); //CS - When High, sets chip to read the data.
      pinMode (SHDN, OUTPUT); //CS - When High, sets chip to read the data.
      pinMode (RS, OUTPUT); //CS - When High, sets chip to read the data.
      
      digitalWrite(SHDN, HIGH); //Power ON (HIGH)
      digitalWrite(RS, HIGH); //Power NO RESET (LOW)
      SPI.begin();
    }
    
    void loop()
    {
      PotHighAndLow_mt(addressPot0);      //Change POT values on Pot0
      PotHighAndLow_mt(addressPot1);     //Change POT values on Pot1
      PotHighAndLow_mt(addressPot0and1); //Change POT values on both
      
      
      digitalPotWrite(245,  addressPot1);
      digitalWrite(SHDN, LOW); //Power OFF (LOW)
      delay(5000); //delay for 5 seconds to test current consumption of potentiometer
      digitalWrite(SHDN, HIGH); //Power ON (HIGH)
      digitalPotWrite(245,  addressPot1);
      
      digitalWrite(RS, LOW); //Power NO RESET (LOW)
      delay(100); //delay 100 mls
      digitalWrite(RS, HIGH); //Power RESET (HIGH)
      delay(10000); //delay 10 sec
    
    }
    
    void PotHighAndLow_mt(byte address)
    {
      /* We have limit from 130 - 255 just for LED test, but for other projects it can be 0-255 */
          for (int i = 130; i <= 255; i++)
        {
          digitalPotWrite(i,address);
          delay(10);
        }
       // delay(500);
        for (int i = 255; i >= 130; i--) 
        {
          digitalPotWrite(i,address);
          delay(10);
        }
    }
    
    
    
    int digitalPotWrite(byte value, byte address)
    {
      digitalWrite(CS, LOW); //Set Chip Active
      SPI.transfer(address);
      SPI.transfer(value);
      digitalWrite(CS, HIGH); //Set Chip Inactive
    }



  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,085, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,617
    Helped
    3559 / 3559
    Points
    77,085
    Level
    67

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    Hi,

    review your given informations:
    Used a MCP4261 to generate a signal to control a analog joystick, seems its max current is too small, anyway can amplification it's signal?
    * We see no joystick
    * we see that there is nothing connected to the potīs wiper
    * we canīt know what current you talk about
    .. and so on...


    really a riddle...


    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  8. #8
    Member level 1
    Points: 224, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    38
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    224
    Level
    2

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    review your given informations:

    * We see no joystick
    * we see that there is nothing connected to the potīs wiper
    * we canīt know what current you talk about
    .. and so on...


    really a riddle...


    Klaus
    1. no joystick for now, just multi meter test the V at p6 and p9, and the output is the result.
    2. currently ' testing the MCP461, use it if its good.



  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,085, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,617
    Helped
    3559 / 3559
    Points
    77,085
    Level
    67

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    Hi,

    Please review all your informations and give unambiguous informations.
    It takes too much time for us to find out what you want to tell:

    Some examples:
    This code used to control the digital potentiometer
    MCP41100 connected to arduino Board --> There is no MCP41100
    CS >>> D10 --> There is no D10
    SCLK >> D13 --> There is no D13
    DI >>> D11 --> There is no DI and no D11
    PA0 TO VCC --> There is no PA0
    PBO TO GND --> There is no PBO
    SHDN >> 9
    PW0 TO led with resistor 100ohm . --> There is no PW0, no LED, and no information about the second connection of the LED

    1. no joystick for now, just multi meter test the V at p6 and p9, and the output is the result. --> There is no p6, no p9. Measuring the voltage ... but initially you talk about current. and what do you mean by "result"?

    Clarify all your informations of all your posts, because these are just a couple of doubtful informations.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  10. #10
    Member level 1
    Points: 224, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    38
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    224
    Level
    2

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    Please review all your informations and give unambiguous informations.
    It takes too much time for us to find out what you want to tell:

    Some examples:
    This code used to control the digital potentiometer
    MCP41100 connected to arduino Board --> There is no MCP41100
    CS >>> D10 --> There is no D10
    SCLK >> D13 --> There is no D13
    DI >>> D11 --> There is no DI and no D11
    PA0 TO VCC --> There is no PA0
    PBO TO GND --> There is no PBO
    SHDN >> 9
    PW0 TO led with resistor 100ohm . --> There is no PW0, no LED, and no information about the second connection of the LED

    1. no joystick for now, just multi meter test the V at p6 and p9, and the output is the result. --> There is no p6, no p9. Measuring the voltage ... but initially you talk about current. and what do you mean by "result"?

    Clarify all your informations of all your posts, because these are just a couple of doubtful informations.

    Klaus
    Well, the diagram and code from: https://www.instructables.com/id/Dig...-with-Arduino/

    the red you point out are inside /* */ .
    the p6 and p9 mean pot wiper;
    I was trying to do some thing on joystick and the mcp4261 do have a larger current, but I need to test the MCP4261 is good or not firstly, now the mcp4261 can pass the test.



  11. #11
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 24,041, Level: 37
    barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    4,611
    Helped
    1021 / 1021
    Points
    24,041
    Level
    37

    Re: any solution to amplify the MCP4261 current

    Nope. I quit.


    1 members found this post helpful.

--[[ ]]--