Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Opamp Design Procedure,

Status
Not open for further replies.

KingDarius6288

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I am new to opamp design field. Currently I want to design a two stage cascode opamp in 65 nm process, and I have two questions:

1) Is there any reference that guides step by step design procedure? specially a design guide on CMFB circuits?
2) How can I change the drain source voltages of the transistors in my design?

Thanks a lot

Hi,
Your 2nd question tells you are at the very beginning of analog IC design, however the 1st question is far from it.
So I think these are the correct steps for you:
a, understand how a MOS device operates from a good book, the transfer+output characteristics (book: Behzad Razavi - Design of analog CMOS integrated circuits)
b, learn basic circuit building blocks, CS and CD amplifier stages, differential and cascode amplifier (book: same from B.Razavi)
c, design the simpliest 2 stage OpAmp, which you will extend to a folded cascode OPAmp later (P.E.Allen lessons, google for them, there are a lot of great pdf from he)
d, change single-ended OPAmp to a differential one (book: Gray/Hurst/Lewis/Meyer - Analysis and Design of Analog Integrated Circuits, contains a lot of explaination about CMFB)

Thank you frankrose,