+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 865, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    121
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    865
    Level
    6

    AD9226 adc not working when "clock stabilizer" pin is used

    I have a design where AD9226 is used, and both experiencing similar problem:
    when
    1) MODE pin open: works (in this case "clock stabilizer" is disabled)
    2) MODE to 5V: not working properly, distorted/scaled signal. Signal is scaled non-linearly depending on amplitude.
    3) MODE to GND: not working properly, digitized data is zero

    observed some strange voltage changes on noise reduction pins CAPB/CAPT
    1) MODE pin open: CAPB=2.04V CAPT=3.08V (VREF=1.04V)
    2) MODE pin to 5V: CAPB=3.72V CAPT=4.72V (VREF=1.04V) - this may explain why signal is distorted and "scaled"
    3) MODE pin to GND: CAPB=0V CAPT=1.2V (VREF=1.04V) - here digitized signal shows only zero data
    in my opinion clock stabilizer pin should not pull CAPB/CAPT voltages, although it may be normal.

    Using schematic from datasheet fig5.a single ended input, common mode voltage = 1v.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 72,488, Level: 65
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,736
    Helped
    3366 / 3366
    Points
    72,488
    Level
    65

    Re: AD9226 adc not working when "clock stabilizer" pin is used

    Hi,

    how does your clock signal look like?
    * is it continous and the frequency stable with stable duty cycle?

    --> A scope picture is helpful.

    Also the PCB layout critical.
    --> show us your PCB layout.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 253,760, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    44,217
    Helped
    13458 / 13458
    Points
    253,760
    Level
    100

    Re: AD9226 adc not working when "clock stabilizer" pin is used

    in my opinion clock stabilizer pin should not pull CAPB/CAPT voltages, although it may be normal.
    It should not. There seems to be something wrong with other external connections of the ADC, a problem not yet addressed in your post. CAPB/CAPT voltage can be varied through SENSE and VREF, but should be symmetrical to 2.5V.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 865, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    121
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    865
    Level
    6

    Re: AD9226 adc not working when "clock stabilizer" pin is used

    Previously I have asked this question at
    https://ez.analog.com/data_converter.../322950#322950

    KlausST, I had concerns about clock signal (I have used 40MHz from 3.3v microcontroller, and it looked not very good on a scope).
    But the same behavior is observed with lowered frequency, for example 4MHz, when clock signal have very clean 3.3vpp.
    I thought maybe 3.3v clock may be the problem, but from topic on ez.analog.com and datasheet it seems to be ok.

    FvM, here are some images:

    Photo of previous prototype (mode pin bent to make it work)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ad9226old.png 
Views:	3 
Size:	144.6 KB 
ID:	152363

    Current prototype, as advised on ez.analog.com, i use exact schematic from datasheet, but without tantalum caps (tried small black tantalum caps on photo above without any effect, recommended capacity). So now using schematic from datasheet:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fig5a.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	37.9 KB 
ID:	152364

    New layout:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ad9226new.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	9.6 KB 
ID:	152366

    New schematic (5v looks like not connected, but my nets are connected by name)
    On the right there is vref connection to blue "BUS", not connected to any circuits outside while testing problem with "stabilizer pin"
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	schematic-new.png 
Views:	6 
Size:	51.8 KB 
ID:	152365

    highlighted 5v connections:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5visthere.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	7.8 KB 
ID:	152368

    0ohm resistors to choose mode and value of internal vref

    To be sure i tested it without anything other soldered: only MCU with ADC. No opamps or other ICs.
    Last edited by Georgy.Moshkin; 13th April 2019 at 09:28.



  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 72,488, Level: 65
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,736
    Helped
    3366 / 3366
    Points
    72,488
    Level
    65

    Re: AD9226 adc not working when "clock stabilizer" pin is used

    Hi,

    (Look at my post#2l
    We still can't verify your clock signal.
    We just know it is 3.3Vpp, but we still don't know about waveform, duty cycle, stability...and whether it is continous or not...

    Similar with the PCB layout.
    Here we can't verfy if you used split GND planes for analog and digital.

    But we can see that you joined AVDD with DRVDD.
    With most ADC they are separate not to introduce noise from the "dirty" digital part to the "clean" analog part.
    --> separate them and use at least proper filtering for the analog part

    Klaus

    - - - Updated - - -

    Added....

    What's the use of the 33Ohms resistor in the CLK line?

    Datasheet:
    I just recognized the weird naming of the data lines.
    Not only that it starts with 1 and counts up to 12....
    ...but the most (beep) issue is that bit1 = MSB and bit12 = LSB.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 253,760, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    44,217
    Helped
    13458 / 13458
    Points
    253,760
    Level
    100

    Re: AD9226 adc not working when "clock stabilizer" pin is used

    As long as the internal reference voltage circuit doesn't work (as the reported CAPB/CAPT voltages indicate), you don't need to wonder about implausible output codes or think about signal quality. As far as I'm aware of, the reference circuit doesn't depend on clock signal quality, there must be a more basic problem. I must confess that I never observed a similar problem with 3V and 1.8V ADI converters, they have quite similar mode selection circuit, never used a 5V type.

    Regarding clock stabilizer usage, it's meaningful if you can't provide stable near 50% duty cycle clock. Can you operate the circuit without clock stabilizer? To verify if the problem might be related to clock signal quality though, can you check if the CAPB/CAPT voltages change when stop the clock?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  7. #7
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 865, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    121
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    865
    Level
    6

    Re: AD9226 adc not working when "clock stabilizer" pin is used

    FvM, i use it without clock stabilizer all this time.
    I tried to stop clock and do not see any changes in capb/capt (still strangely pulled when mode pin is tied to gnd or 5v)

    Now I am thinking to try following:
    1) providing 5v clock signal
    2) buying some pcb with AD9226 which works with mode pin. Then unsolder AD9226 and replace it with those i have already bought
    3) buying few samples from a bigger components supplier


    KlausST, yes, bit order is reversed.
    Currently i only have 50MHz scope, and it seems not enough to measure clock signal.

    Problem reproducible at any sampling frequencies. I tried 9MHz clock and mode pin still causes problems if tied to gnd/5v:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	scope.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	12.9 KB 
ID:	152403

    I am pretty sure it does not miss pulses or something like that. Although I did not do strict measurements, maybe need to learn more about using digital features of oscilloscope.

    33 ohm resistor on clock pin is for tuning clock waveform, for 65mhz i used 0ohm.

    Layout:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	layout-ground.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	9.5 KB 
ID:	152404

    I usually use solid ground plane everywhere, and 0 ohm resistor as jumpers.



--[[ ]]--