+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 135, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    135
    Level
    1

    RF IQ Quadrature modulator

    Dear All!,
    Could anyone help to assembly a setup test. I have an IQ Quadrature Modulator (Polyphase ) with: 4 input`s (I, Ī and Q, ΞQ). Further, my RF LO(Local osc.) and RF Output (Mod. Signal). I have also, an Arbitrary Waveform Generator, which I would like to use to create my "I and Q". A RF signal Generator to my LO too.
    IF I want a signal em 2,5 GHz, which will be my setting? Could you help me? If anyone want details I will share it....as well as info about my equipment... Thank you

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 772, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    125
    Helped
    12 / 12
    Points
    772
    Level
    6

    Re: RF IQ Quadrature modulator

    Maybe you can draw the setup in your mind, so we can talk about it?



  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 255,118, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    44,450
    Helped
    13543 / 13543
    Points
    255,118
    Level
    100

    Re: RF IQ Quadrature modulator

    To fully utilize the I/Q modulator capabilities, you need a dual channel arbitrary waveform generator. Adjust the amplitudes and DC offset according to the modulator specification, that's all.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 135, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    135
    Level
    1

    Re: RF IQ Quadrature modulator

    Yes, please, see the Pic. attached. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	8 
Size:	386.7 KB 
ID:	152538

    Could you say me some more? In that case, a 10 GHz modulated signal has been wanted. Thanks,



  5. #5
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 135, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    135
    Level
    1

    Re: RF IQ Quadrature modulator

    FvM I did it, and worked fine, the dual channel arbitrary waveform generator. Now, could say me how can I will set it signal to work as a pulsed RF signal?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 28,992, Level: 41
    BigBoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    4,201
    Helped
    1270 / 1270
    Points
    28,992
    Level
    41

    Re: RF IQ Quadrature modulator

    A valuable and a helping document for IQ measurements
    https://www.analog.com/media/en/tech...tes/an102f.pdf


    1 members found this post helpful.

  7. #7
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 2,551, Level: 11
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Türkiye
    Posts
    112
    Helped
    29 / 29
    Points
    2,551
    Level
    11

    Re: RF IQ Quadrature modulator

    In order to have a pulsed RF signal, either I or Q channel is sufficient. Generate a baseband pulse signal on either of them(I or Q), apply LO, you will observe pulsed RF at the output.



--[[ ]]--