+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 291, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    291
    Level
    3

    Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Hi, I use TL866 burner to burn Atmega8A-PU. Now I want to burn Atmega8A-AU (SMD). For that I bought a QFP32 Socket (Adapter) but I dont know how to place IC on socket and how to place socket on burner (TL866). I shared socket on burner picture with attachment.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	715bf8c7-d480-4e0a-ae6d-e392711d7782.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	67.5 KB 
ID:	150598Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Original-MiniPro-TL866-Willem-Bios-Programmer-TL866cs-Universal-Programmer-High-Performance-Upda.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	53.0 KB 
ID:	150597

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 70,834, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,484
    Helped
    3296 / 3296
    Points
    70,834
    Level
    64

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Hi,

    You'd better thougt about this before you bought it.

    ****
    You need to ensure that the wiring is in same order as with the AtMega8 DIP case.
    Maybe you need an additional adapter for this, because you can't be sure that every random QFP32 socket is identical.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  3. #3
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 291, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    291
    Level
    3

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    You'd better thougt about this before you bought it.

    ****
    You need to ensure that the wiring is in same order as with the AtMega8 DIP case.
    Maybe you need an additional adapter for this, because you can't be sure that every random QFP32 socket is identical.

    Klaus
    Hi KlausST, Thanks for reply.
    When I bought it they told me this adapter will compatible with TL866. But now I cant understand how can I use it.



  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 70,834, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,484
    Helped
    3296 / 3296
    Points
    70,834
    Level
    64

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Hi,

    Do the pins at the bottom side of the QFP adapter fit into the ZIF socket of the programmer? Usually pin1 to pin1.
    (From the pictures it doesn't seem so).

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  5. #5
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 291, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    291
    Level
    3

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    Do the pins at the bottom side of the QFP adapter fit into the ZIF socket of the programmer? Usually pin1 to pin1.
    (From the pictures it doesn't seem so).

    Klaus
    Hi Klaus, Yes it fit into the ZIF socket of the pragrammer every pin to pin.

    This is my product link.
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/43-2...8-68ea9913d36a



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 70,834, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,484
    Helped
    3296 / 3296
    Points
    70,834
    Level
    64

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Hi,

    and what exactly is the problem then?

    IC in adapter socket: Pin1 on pin1
    Adapter in programmer: pin1 on pin1.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 252,756, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    44,024
    Helped
    13394 / 13394
    Points
    252,756
    Level
    100

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    A compatible Atmega8 QFP32 to DIP28 adapter would be expected to have 28 pins.

    The shown adapter has 32 pins, I guess it has a 1:1 pin wiring (you may have already checked). In this case, the adapter can be only used with a specific programmer if the programmer is prepared for performing the required pin mapping. You should check the documentation.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I found that newer TL866 II supports ATmega QFP32 programming but TL866 doesn't. It would require a special wired adapter according to DIP28 pin mapping. See the information for TL866 II below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	qfp32.PNG 
Views:	9 
Size:	241.0 KB 
ID:	150603


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  8. #8
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 291, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    291
    Level
    3

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Quote Originally Posted by FvM View Post
    A compatible Atmega8 QFP32 to DIP28 adapter would be expected to have 28 pins.

    The shown adapter has 32 pins, I guess it has a 1:1 pin wiring (you may have already checked). In this case, the adapter can be only used with a specific programmer if the programmer is prepared for performing the required pin mapping. You should check the documentation.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I found that newer TL866 II supports ATmega QFP32 programming but TL866 doesn't. It would require a special wired adapter according to DIP28 pin mapping. See the information for TL866 II below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	qfp32.PNG 
Views:	9 
Size:	241.0 KB 
ID:	150603
    Hi FvM, Thanks for reply. I am clear from your post. I understand why QFP32/DIP32 socket not working with TL866 burner. I need QFP32/DIP28 socket to work properly with TL866 burner.

    Best Regards.



  9. #9
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 291, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    291
    Level
    3

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Hi all, I made a pcb as QFP32 to DIP28. Now I can read Atmega8a-SMD IC but It cant finish program. I dont know what is problem. I shared some picture with attachment as evidence. Please help me about this.



  10. #10
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 291, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    291
    Level
    3

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    I shared image with this post.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2019-01-25 19-04-51-538.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	149.0 KB 
ID:	150863Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2019-01-25 18-43-16-022.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	135.9 KB 
ID:	150862Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2019-01-25 18-38-56-090.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	131.8 KB 
ID:	150861



  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Points: 70,834, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,484
    Helped
    3296 / 3296
    Points
    70,834
    Level
    64

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Hi,

    whatīs the programming voltage and the programming SCK frequency?
    Whatīs your fuse setup?

    Please confirm: The programmer usues serial programming mode?

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  12. #12
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 291, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    291
    Level
    3

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    whatīs the programming voltage and the programming SCK frequency?
    Whatīs your fuse setup?

    Please confirm: The programmer usues serial programming mode?

    Klaus
    My fuse setup is Low byte - 0x83 and High byte - 0xC9. I selected 40p adapter as Interface. I giving another image with attachment as evidence.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2019-01-26 11-25-33-267.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	130.1 KB 
ID:	150867



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Points: 70,834, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,484
    Helped
    3296 / 3296
    Points
    70,834
    Level
    64

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Hi,

    My fuse setup is Low byte - 0x83 and High byte - 0xC9.
    Sadly you give just half of the information I asked for.
    And the given infirmations are different as shown in the third picture of post#10, where it says Lfuse, Hfuse= 0x61, 0xDF.

    How can we know what is correct?

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,386, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    12,666
    Helped
    4224 / 4224
    Points
    77,386
    Level
    67

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Maybe I'm being too simplistic but assuming the two devices are identical except for packaging, the pins for one should match the pins for the other for programming purposes.

    Pick a unique pin used for programming (avoid VSS for example that might be on more than one pin), note its DIP pin number, then find which equivalent pin on the QFP32 goes to that DIP pin on the adapter. Line them up and you should be good to go. Two minute job to look or buzz with a continuity tester should be all it takes.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Points: 70,834, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,484
    Helped
    3296 / 3296
    Points
    70,834
    Level
    64

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Hi,

    assuming the two devices are identical except for packaging, the pins for one should match the pins for the other for programming purposes.
    I think it's the same die.
    But the DIL package has 28 pins and the QFP package has 32 pins.
    The the numbers can't be the same.
    But the names should match.
    And from a quick view I think the self made PCB is wired correctly.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  16. #16
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 291, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    291
    Level
    3

    Re: Problem with QFP32 Socket and tl866 burner to burn Atmega8A(SMD)

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,


    Sadly you give just half of the information I asked for.
    And the given infirmations are different as shown in the third picture of post#10, where it says Lfuse, Hfuse= 0x61, 0xDF.

    How can we know what is correct?

    Klaus
    Hi sir, After read chip showing fuse bit Lfuse, Hfuse= 0x61, 0xDF. and before program I set Lfuse, Hfuse= 0x83, 0xC9. I share an image for evidence.

    How can i get the programming voltage and the programming SCK frequency?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2019-01-26 19-18-56-793.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	74.1 KB 
ID:	150868



--[[ ]]--