Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Questions about doherty GaN mmic PA

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxsidou

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone, currently i'm simulating one GaN doherty mmic PA, since i'm new to doherty and mmic GaN PA is a new research in our lab. So hope to get some advice here.

1) as for the OMN of the main amplifier, do i just match for the maximum power(match Zopt to 50ohm)? Or at the same time, the maximum PAE point should be matched to the 2*50ohm to get the best backoff efficiency? I tried to match them all but found difficult and the maximum PAE point always lines in the left part of smith chart. So is matching maximum PAE point to 2*50ohm a must-do step?

2) To get more obvious backoff efficiency enhancement, one driver stage is added before the main&auxiliary PA. It is interesting that backoff efficiency enhancement can only be observed
at center frequency but not in other frequencies. I changed a wide-band driver but in vain. So is there some noteworthy tricks in driver stage design in doherty mmic?

Any response, idea and papers recommendation is appreciated!

For the Main Power Amplifier, you've got three options. Max. Delivered Power OR Max. Efficiency OR Max. Gain.
Nor of them is overlaps in practice so you have to choose one of them which is more beneficial for your requirements.The others will automatically aligned according to the principal one.