+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member level 2
    Points: 717, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    47
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    717
    Level
    5

    PLS explain how to make BRAM

    How to make bram, exactly how to write depth and write width memory to make following addra addrb dina and doutb :

    Code:
    component bram2x80x64
    	port (
    	clka: IN std_logic;
    	dina: IN std_logic_VECTOR(15 downto 0);
    	addra: IN std_logic_VECTOR(8 downto 0);
    	wea: IN std_logic_VECTOR(0 downto 0);
    	clkb: IN std_logic;
    	addrb: IN std_logic_VECTOR(6 downto 0);
    	doutb: OUT std_logic_VECTOR(63 downto 0));
    end component;
    
    component bram2x320x64
    	port (
    	clka: IN std_logic;
    	dina: IN std_logic_VECTOR(63 downto 0);
    	addra: IN std_logic_VECTOR(8 downto 0);
    	wea: IN std_logic_VECTOR(0 downto 0);
    	clkb: IN std_logic;
    	addrb: IN std_logic_VECTOR(10 downto 0);
    	doutb: OUT std_logic_VECTOR(15 downto 0));
    end component;
    Last edited by andre_teprom; 16th December 2018 at 00:06. Reason: added CODE tags

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 37,078, Level: 47
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,755
    Helped
    1974 / 1974
    Points
    37,078
    Level
    47

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    You post makes little sense. BRAMs can either be generated as a core or infered from HDL code.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,748, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    946
    Helped
    270 / 270
    Points
    5,748
    Level
    17

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    I think the question is based on the width difference of the ports.

    The answer is the same though, use a vendor core or read the vendor docs. The vendor synthesis guide might have info on this. Although something like coregen/megafunction would be easier for a new developer working on a single design.



  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 7,936, Level: 21
    Achievements:
    7 years registered Created Blog entry
    dpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Germay
    Posts
    1,178
    Helped
    255 / 255
    Points
    7,936
    Level
    21
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    If you are using a Xilinx FPGA, read the UG901 Vivado Synthesis Guide, specially the section 'RAM HDL Coding Techniques'
    FPGA enthusiast!



  5. #5
    Member level 2
    Points: 717, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    47
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    717
    Level
    5

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    could someone explain in two words only ?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 69,422, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,187
    Helped
    3239 / 3239
    Points
    69,422
    Level
    64

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    Hi,

    you ask for an explanation in "two words" ... but refuse to give complete informations?

    ..and it seems you donīt care about the already given answers.

    Klaus
    Please donīt contact me via PM, because there is no time to respond to them. No friend requests. Thank you.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 37,078, Level: 47
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,755
    Helped
    1974 / 1974
    Points
    37,078
    Level
    47

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    Quote Originally Posted by abimann View Post
    could someone explain in two words only ?
    Read Documentation!



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,748, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    946
    Helped
    270 / 270
    Points
    5,748
    Level
    17

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    see above.



  9. #9
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 7,428, Level: 20

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,571
    Helped
    272 / 272
    Points
    7,428
    Level
    20

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    what sort of mentality is this, you were told to read the documentation like engineers do since the dawn of times. that is the right answer. don't look for shortcuts.
    Really, I am not Sam.



  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 22,507, Level: 36
    barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    4,301
    Helped
    954 / 954
    Points
    22,507
    Level
    36

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    Quote Originally Posted by abimann View Post
    could someone explain in two words only ?
    Different career.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  11. #11
    Member level 2
    Points: 717, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    47
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    717
    Level
    5

    Re: PLS explain how to make BRAM

    Quote Originally Posted by barry View Post
    Different career.
    Thats is my hobby , when i can get it easy , i try easy way. If no easy , i cannot sleep and read all docs.. In this situation i just crate it , and understand that depth is dina and doutb and , address is depends on second parameter. i changed it two or three times and understand how to do all bram configuraitons...so that is enough so now it works. Thanx to all.



--[[ ]]--