Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Variable gain through a microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

doncarlosalbatros

Full Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have a sine signal Vsignal below which is AC coupled and will be buffered by an LT1490 to the line input of a MOSFET power amplifier.

Untitled.png

I'm able to control the frequency of the Vsignal through Arduino. But I also need to control the gain through Arduino.

What approaches is possible for a variable gain? Is there any dedicated IC for such purpose? I need a variable output between 0.25Vrms to 3Vrms for instance. I have no experience on such topic. Input to LT1490 will be fixed 500mV amplitude i.e 1Vpk-pk.

How about changing Rp with a 10k digital pot as below like a MCP41010? Does anybody have experience with such use? Would that be fine if I replace MCP41010 with Rp?

jqIdp.png

- - - Updated - - -

My freq. of interest if from 0.1Hz to 20Hz only.

Last edited:

The problem I see is that you are supplying the opamp with +/- 15 volt, such that its output swing will get close to those values. How close, depends on the opamp itself.

However, all the digipots I've seen can only accept a signal not larger than +/-5 volts.
Not used them for over a decade, so there may be devices which could accept a larger voltage swing.

Do you require that your second stage to be inverting? If not, tie the 1K resistor to ground and the input signal to the non-inverting input with the digipot in the middle configured as a normal potentiometer.