+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 349, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    11
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    349
    Level
    3

    required number of points for Monte-Carlo simulation

    How determinate required number of points for Monte-Carlo simulation in cadence virtuoso?

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 7,939, Level: 21

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,670
    Helped
    294 / 294
    Points
    7,939
    Level
    21

    Re: required number of points for Monte-Carlo simulation

    Quote Originally Posted by zhorik21 View Post
    How determinate required number of points for Monte-Carlo simulation in cadence virtuoso?
    like any other statistical method, you need enough samples to build confidence that you are capturing the behavior of the overall population. it can be 10. it can be 1000.
    Really, I am not Sam.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 349, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    11
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    349
    Level
    3

    Re: required number of points for Monte-Carlo simulation

    Thanks for you answer. But how can i know that i have enough samples. For example i simulate a operational amplifier and look on offset voltage. If i have 100 point for monte carlo simulation, i have correct result? Or i should take 1000/2000 to plot correct curve of distribution?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 18,686, Level: 33
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    crutschow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    L.A. USA Zulu -8
    Posts
    3,607
    Helped
    858 / 858
    Points
    18,686
    Level
    33

    Re: required number of points for Monte-Carlo simulation

    The number of points needed is determined by the statistical confidence level you want.
    There is no "correct result" in statistics, only a good result.
    For a better understanding, you need a basic understanding of statistics.

    Looking at the mean and standard deviation of the results will give you an idea of how good your Monte-Carlo data is in determining the expected deviation in a production run.
    Zapper
    Curmudgeon Elektroniker


    2 members found this post helpful.

  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,468, Level: 17
    Dominik Przyborowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    723
    Helped
    302 / 302
    Points
    5,468
    Level
    17

    Re: required number of points for Monte-Carlo simulation



    2 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 4,301, Level: 15

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    645
    Helped
    162 / 162
    Points
    4,301
    Level
    15

    Re: required number of points for Monte-Carlo simulation

    100 points usually for me gave a pretty good standard deviation for an OPAmp offset voltage, sometimes 30 is enough if the design is in an initial state, not bad, but to see the contribution percentage of the devices to the offset an 1000 points are required at least. These are just kind of thumb rules, but above answers covered this topic.
    "Try SCE to AUX." /John Aaron/


    1 members found this post helpful.

--[[ ]]--