+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 105, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    105
    Level
    1

    Noise calculation using hspice

    How many types of noise can we calculate using hspice?
    I am focussing on cmos inverter circuit.
    I have pre and post(with RC components) circuit file ,a testbench, model file.
    Noise data is getting published in the output lis file.
    I am not able to figure out actual noise calculated as there are so many thing getting dumped in lis output file .
    I am not working on any tool,only commands on linux .
    Can anyone suggest calculation of noise of inverter using hspice?

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,379, Level: 28
    pancho_hideboo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Real Homeless
    Posts
    2,161
    Helped
    594 / 594
    Points
    14,379
    Level
    28

    Re: Noise calculation using hspice

    Quote Originally Posted by Knowledge.seeker View Post
    How many types of noise can we calculate using hspice?
    What do you want to mean ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Knowledge.seeker View Post
    Can anyone suggest calculation of noise of inverter using hspice?
    Use ".noise".



  3. #3
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 105, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    105
    Level
    1

    Re: Noise calculation using hspice

    Quote Originally Posted by pancho_hideboo View Post
    What do you want to mean ?

    I mean which type of analysis : transient analysis,AC analysis or DC analysis and noises like: flicker,shot

    Use ".noise".
    Used this .my code is below:
    .PROBE V(ZN) V(A1)
    .PROBE V(ZN) V(A2)
    .AC lin 1000 1HZ 1GHZ
    .NOISE v(ZN) VA1 VA2 1000
    .PRINT ONOISE INOISE

    output file generated with this code is *.lis
    it has lot of data about what models we have used,values of technology parameters ands noise data also.
    Question is how can i verify that the noise is coming though analysis is the correct one.?
    Liberty file does not have noise data on which i am working .



  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,379, Level: 28
    pancho_hideboo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Real Homeless
    Posts
    2,161
    Helped
    594 / 594
    Points
    14,379
    Level
    28

    Re: Noise calculation using hspice

    Quote Originally Posted by Knowledge.seeker View Post
    .NOISE v(ZN) VA1 VA2 1000
    It can not be true.
    Show me true netlist.

    Quote Originally Posted by Knowledge.seeker View Post
    Question is how can i verify that the noise is coming though analysis is the correct one.?
    ".PRINT ONOISE INOISE ".

    Quote Originally Posted by Knowledge.seeker View Post
    Liberty file does not have noise data on which i am working .
    What do you want to mean ?
    Use correct terminology.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  5. #5
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 105, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    105
    Level
    1

    Re: Noise calculation using hspice

    Quote Originally Posted by pancho_hideboo View Post
    It can not be true.
    Show me true netlist.

    ".PRINT ONOISE INOISE ".
    Done this.

    What do you want to mean ?
    Use correct terminology.
    I am using correct methodology.using nangate libraries of 45nm technology .These don't have noise data.



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,379, Level: 28
    pancho_hideboo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Real Homeless
    Posts
    2,161
    Helped
    594 / 594
    Points
    14,379
    Level
    28

    Re: Noise calculation using hspice

    Quote Originally Posted by Knowledge.seeker View Post
    I am using correct methodology.
    Can you understand a meaning of "methodology" ?

    "Liberty” does not mean "Library"

    Quote Originally Posted by Knowledge.seeker View Post
    using nangate libraries of 45nm technology .
    These don't have noise data.
    Thermal Noise and Channel-Noise are included in simulation.
    However Fricker Noise is not included in your situation.
    Last edited by pancho_hideboo; 10th October 2018 at 13:30.



  7. #7
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 105, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    105
    Level
    1

    Re: Noise calculation using hspice

    Sorry that was misprinted, Liberty does not have noise data or noise is written with some other identifier in the liberty which i am not able to figure out.
    I have seen noise data in ccs liberty files but not in nldm.
    Does noise can be calculated for nldm or ccs only. ?



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,379, Level: 28
    pancho_hideboo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Real Homeless
    Posts
    2,161
    Helped
    594 / 594
    Points
    14,379
    Level
    28

    Re: Noise calculation using hspice

    Quote Originally Posted by Knowledge.seeker View Post
    I have seen noise data in ccs liberty files but not in nldm.
    Does noise can be calculated for nldm or ccs only. ?
    What relation do they have regarding HSPICE ?

    Can you understand things correctly ?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  9. #9
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 105, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    105
    Level
    1

    Re: Noise calculation using hspice

    i am taking noise data in liberty files as reference for my calculation results using simulator hspice.
    I am trying to calculate noise with nldm method using hspice.



--[[ ]]--