Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Demodulation of an laser interferometer signal

Status
Not open for further replies.

elch21

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am currently building a heterodyne laser interferometer in a Mach-Zehnder configuration. The output of my photodiodes give a phase (frequency) modulated signal with a carrier frequency of 80 MHz. The modulation signal has a maximal frequency of some KHz.
Because I am completely new to electronics and signal processing, I have some fundamental questions regarding the demodulation and processing of the signal. It would be great if someone who is experienced in those fields could give me some short answers:

- My first thought was to just digitize the whole signal and demodulate it afterwards. Unfortunately, I would need an ADC with a sampling frequency of at least some GHz, which seems to be pretty expensive. Is there any way to digitize a 80 MHz signal accurately without spending several thousand dollars?
Is it maybe possible to downconvert the signal to a certain extend in order to reduce the necessary sampling rate?

- Another option seems to be analog demodulation using a PLL and only digitizing the demodulated signal. As far as I can see, PLLs are quite cheap and should deliver a voltage depending on the phase of my signal. I know that analog processing would be more sensitive and less accurate, but I would accept this for now.
Are there any important specifications of PLLs I would have to consider in order to have the best possible results? I know that I have to pick the right input bandwith :)