+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 4,612, Level: 16
    Externet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mideast US
    Posts
    392
    Helped
    27 / 27
    Points
    4,612
    Level
    16

    Password kind of blocked...

    Hi.
    Logging in to this forum, the top boxes accept username but the password does not.
    Hitting enter, brings a second large prompt to log-in. Its password box does work and login is normal from there. What has changed?; was not like that ever before.
    Abolish the deciBel !

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 9,792, Level: 23
    d123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,726
    Helped
    402 / 402
    Points
    9,792
    Level
    23

    Re: Password kind of blocked...

    Hi,

    Not sure what is meant from the description. Does the password field not let you write anything at all?

    Worst case: A keystroke logger can mess up password fields, paranoid/suspicious experience leads me to believe, albeit with no facts to back the improbable (?) theory up...

    On a more rational level: Have you changed any software on your computer or are you using a different browser? I find sometimes what I write is not introduced faithfully to username and/or password fields, it seems to be something glitchy about either a piece of keystroke scrambling software I use or a browser or I think it's the combination of the two that don't always "speak the same language". One browser is hopeless for this kind of thing, it writes whatever letters it feels like sometimes in both fields but refreshing the page sorts the issue out. I wonder if it's writing before a page is fully loaded sometimes as well so I think I've written it correctly but there are letters, sorry - alphanumeric characters - missing.

    And sometimes I make fat finger mistakes...

    (Let's hope edaboard never gets the captcha disease - allegedly proven to be useless against machines and hard for humans to do correctly... grrrrrr!)

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 4,612, Level: 16
    Externet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mideast US
    Posts
    392
    Helped
    27 / 27
    Points
    4,612
    Level
    16

    Re: Password kind of blocked...

    Thanks. You understand it correctly. After entering username, and clicking the password field to enter text, it blinks and does not accept typing. Hitting Enter, opens a second large login as the previous failed. That one works.

    Using the same browser with the typical periodical updates and nothing weird beyond. There is no saved username nor password from the browser that always asks if it is desired to save them.
    Linux-Ubuntu 18.04 + Firefox61.
    Abolish the deciBel !

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 52,662, Level: 56

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    12,889
    Helped
    2571 / 2571
    Points
    52,662
    Level
    56

    Re: Password kind of blocked...

    System programmers continually make changes and improvements in the Edaboard interface. I believe some of it's done to enhance cyber security, since converting from HTTP to HTTPS earlier this year.

    For years until recently I visited this forum with my PowerMac G5 running OS 10.5.8 and Safari 5.06. (All slowly and steadily outdated.)
    Earlier this summer it stopped accepting mouse clicks or keypresses in Edaboard webpages. I cannot log in with my PowerMac. It cannot navigate from an Edaboard page to another. (It still works okay with most websites though not all.)

    Since then I now use my Win7 laptop to visit Edaboard. It saves my username and password.

    Did you try pasting your password from your clipboard?

  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 9,792, Level: 23
    d123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,726
    Helped
    402 / 402
    Points
    9,792
    Level
    23

    Re: Password kind of blocked...

    Hi,

    Puzzling. When I open edaboard, if I'm quick, I can type in my username and maybe at most a character or two of the password then the pop-up advert appears so I can't write anything else until I click on "close". Speculation is something is blocking that ad opening correctly and messing up the password field, like the advert tries to open but can't. I'm guessing you'll say that you close the advert before typing anything. :)

    I'd try typing in username, then refreshing page (and waiting for the advert to pop-up), in the doubtful case it helps. Alongside Brad's remarks, not being an expert on this subject, I'd maybe be patient and wait for next FF or/and Linux update to see if the problem resolves itself, unless it's related to edaboard tweaking and then let's hope they'll have seen this thread and will be re-tweaking something. I don't suppose you would know if it started to happen directly after an update or after an update and a reboot.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 81,014, Level: 69
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    13,279
    Helped
    4434 / 4434
    Points
    81,014
    Level
    69

    Re: Password kind of blocked...

    Using Kubuntu (18.04) here with Firefox (61.01) with no problems. It logs me in automatically at each visit.
    Are you using Firefox in a "private window" perhaps, it prevents the cookie from Edaboard being accepted that identifies you as a returning visitor.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.

  7. #7
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 4,612, Level: 16
    Externet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mideast US
    Posts
    392
    Helped
    27 / 27
    Points
    4,612
    Level
    16

    Re: Password kind of blocked...

    Thanks, betwixt.
    I do not save login data nor automatic login, by choice. No advertisement blocker installed. No private browsing.
    Perhaps I should start doing things the aggressive (adblock) and lazy (autologin) way.

    See that d123 also finds the hurdle logging in.
    Abolish the deciBel !

--[[ ]]--