Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Monopole antenna is single ended or two terminal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

simbaliya

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am not a RF designer, but the product I am working on has some RF feature, so I need to understand the concept of antenna.

From the schematic I received from wireless engineer, I sometimes see the monopole antenna is two terminal, one connect to ground, and the other connect to the rx/tx of bandpass filter. While there are also cases that the monopole antenna is single ended with one terminal connect to the matching circuit and then to rx/tx of bandpass filter.

I do not understand the single ended case, if the antenna signal is high frequency voltage, means you need two terminal to receive the signal at the bandpass filter, one ground plus one signal. But in the case of single ended monopole antenna, I do not see the antenna has the other terminal connected to ground, or there is no other terminal of the antenna.

So, how is that possible to receive the antenna signal with single ended connection? I think the signal are totally floating, is it?

An isolated monopole doesn't exist, it always involves an (ideally infinite) ground plane. Practical monopoles are using a finite, in some cases rather small ground plane. The monopole turns into an asymmetrical dipole then.

The problem is that the whole circuit, including connected cables becomes part of the antenna. Any change to it affects the antenna characteristic.