+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 32, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    32
    Level
    1

    Problem in importing TSMC65 Standard Cells Library

    Hi,

    I have access to TSMC65n libraries and I tried to import the standard cells library (tcbn65gplus). After adding it in the library path editor, the layout, schematic and symbol views of any cell are not accessible. They don't open!

    I looked at the different files extensions, they are different than what is usually there for a schematic or a layout view. These extensions are: sch.cdb , sch.cb% , pc.db and mater.tag.

    I appreciate any help to get these views accessible.
    Thanks,

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 6,566, Level: 19

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,400
    Helped
    238 / 238
    Points
    6,566
    Level
    19

    Re: Problem in importing TSMC65 Standard Cells Library

    Quote Originally Posted by MAyesh View Post
    Hi,

    I have access to TSMC65n libraries and I tried to import the standard cells library (tcbn65gplus). After adding it in the library path editor, the layout, schematic and symbol views of any cell are not accessible. They don't open!

    I looked at the different files extensions, they are different than what is usually there for a schematic or a layout view. These extensions are: sch.cdb , sch.cb% , pc.db and mater.tag.

    I appreciate any help to get these views accessible.
    Thanks,
    not only you posted on the wrong forum, you don't even mention what software you are using. how can anyone help you?
    Really, I am not Sam.



  3. #3
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 32, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    32
    Level
    1

    Re: Problem in importing TSMC65 Standard Cells Library

    Quote Originally Posted by ThisIsNotSam View Post
    not only you posted on the wrong forum, you don't even mention what software you are using. how can anyone help you?
    oh, my bad. Could you guide me to the correct forum? and I was talking about Cadence Virtuoso IC 6.1
    Thank you.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 6,566, Level: 19

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,400
    Helped
    238 / 238
    Points
    6,566
    Level
    19

    Re: Problem in importing TSMC65 Standard Cells Library

    Quote Originally Posted by MAyesh View Post
    oh, my bad. Could you guide me to the correct forum? and I was talking about Cadence Virtuoso IC 6.1
    Thank you.
    that would be the ASIC forum

    as to the cells not opening, could be a filesystem permission issue. do you have write access to the folder where the lib is installed? did you check the logs when the library was imported? several minor issues only appear on the log, but are actually major problems.
    Really, I am not Sam.



  5. #5
    Member level 5
    Points: 637, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    83
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    637
    Level
    5

    Re: Problem in importing TSMC65 Standard Cells Library

    I think they are in different format ( cdb ) than the one Virtuoso can understand ( oa ). So, use the Conversion Toolbox --> CDB to OA conversion, convert the library and then add the path of the OA library to library manager



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 6,566, Level: 19

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,400
    Helped
    238 / 238
    Points
    6,566
    Level
    19

    Re: Problem in importing TSMC65 Standard Cells Library

    Quote Originally Posted by NikosTS View Post
    I think they are in different format ( cdb ) than the one Virtuoso can understand ( oa ). So, use the Conversion Toolbox --> CDB to OA conversion, convert the library and then add the path of the OA library to library manager
    virtuoso understands cdb files
    Really, I am not Sam.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  7. #7
    Member level 5
    Points: 637, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    83
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    637
    Level
    5

    Re: Problem in importing TSMC65 Standard Cells Library

    Quote Originally Posted by ThisIsNotSam View Post
    virtuoso understands cdb files
    Are you sure about version 6.16? When i tried to give a path of a CDB library I wasnt able and had to convert it to OA


    1 members found this post helpful.

  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 6,566, Level: 19

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,400
    Helped
    238 / 238
    Points
    6,566
    Level
    19

    Re: Problem in importing TSMC65 Standard Cells Library

    Quote Originally Posted by NikosTS View Post
    Are you sure about version 6.16? When i tried to give a path of a CDB library I wasnt able and had to convert it to OA
    Not entirely sure, no.
    Really, I am not Sam.



--[[ ]]--