Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Driver for steppermotor using Arduino doesn't work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Art24

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to Arduino and electronics overall. I am trying to make a motorised camera slider using a Nema 17 Steppermotor (42BYGHW609). To work with an Arduino, I am also using a driver (A4988). To get a 12 V input I have connected eight 1.5 V AA batteries in series (meassured output: 12.8 V). I connected everyting like in the picture (exept a decoupeling capacitor of 100 uF) Screenshot_1.jpg

I have soldered everything myself. First it didn't work, but then I noticed that when I twisted or pressed the driver in de breadboard the motor was turning. I thought there was a problem with the breadboard, but when I soldered all the pins directly to the driver it stopped working again.

Does anyone know what could be wrong. Maybe a to low current from the batteries or is the driver defect (I got two and both don't work). Or is it the decoupeling capacitor that has a bigger value?

Thank you in advance!

With kind regards,

Art

Hi,

I think - from memory - AAA are about 1440mAh, not sure how deep a momentary discharge can be with such batteries.

Pressed maybe, but twisted an IC in a breadboard? Could have been loose connections and could be that on soldering something burnt or there's a solder bridge somewhere or not any of those. I imagine the step sequence is correct, too.