Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Design class A RF power amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simo.Da

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I am a student at Sheffield University and I don't have a solid experience in the RF design.
I am working on a project trying to design a class A amplifier using BPF740F BJT transistor at 1GHz to show how the output voltage swings between 1V and twice the V_DC and current also swings between 0mA and twice I_Cmax for the selected transistor within the linear region, then I am going to drive the base of the transistor a bit harder to switch from class A to class C (no longer work in linear mode).
What I have done are: I have calculated the R_opt (112 Ohms) depending on load line method and figured out the V_DC(5.5 V), then I did a matching for the input, but still getting wrong output.

Once I am increasing the biasing on the base, the Ic exceeds twice the maximum collector current (which is 40 mA), and the collector-emitter voltage decreases to be less than twice the DC (11 V).

I am struggling to figure out how to solve this problem, or what should modify of consider in order to solve this issue?

Please find attached a screenshot of my schematic I have done using ADS
If you require further information please let me know.

Your help is much appreciated! Capture02.JPGCapture01.JPG

Hi

Are you increasing the bias when you apply the signal?
I am a little unsure of the procedure.