Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Designing tapered waveguide

Status
Not open for further replies.

swilliams77

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I'm new to the microwave world, I have an Electrical Engineering qualification, but never worked with microwaves. I've observed via research papers people producing microwave generated high temperature plasmas and wanted to ( very cautiously ) try and reproduce some of the results I'd seen, using a humble 2.45 Ghz magatron I have sitting on my garage work bench.

The biggest issue is that I need to develop the knowledge to producing a tapered waveguide to boost the microwave intensity at the end of the waveguide to produce a plasma.

I have done some reading, but some of the basics seem to still evade me, in reality all I wanted is a basic design and some rules of thumb ( yeah....ha ha...its RF... ) to produce a basic rectangle section waveguide to have magatron at one end, waveguide tapered to half / quarter original thickness at other end where the quartz tube and plasma will sit.

I want to learn, hence my post.

I am acutely aware of the dangers of microwaves and HV.

Can I ask for some help, as I'd like assistance in designing such a thing from the ground up and am happy to read and research but its a big and complex field.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks.