Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SPI Slave with strange behavior

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmachado

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I don't really know if this is the right place to do this post, so if it is not, please redirect me to the right place.

With that being said, let me explain the problem I am working on right now.

Some time ago someone in the company at which I am currently doing my PhD developed an ASIC with an analog and digital part. The analog part is responsible for doing some measurements and the digital one is composed by an SPI slave, a register bank, that has the registers responsible for configuring the entire ASIC, and some other components that are not relevant for the problem at hand.

The design passed all the functional and timing verification and they tape-off the chip for manufacturing. When the ASIC chip was ready, they find out that the SPI Slave communication was not working properly. Most of the masters that they use to communicate with the slave are not able to write to it, and the one that works, the MCP2210, only writes to it sometimes and most of the times when they use it to read from the slave, the values are wrong. As I am doing my PhD in the ASIC design field, they ask me if I could look into the problem but right now I am at a dead end. So I hope that someone here can give me at least some hints on what tests should I do next and what kind of stuff should I search for.

Here is what I have done so far: